LibGuides: Political Science Subject Guide: International Relations

Suggested databases

Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window Database of congressional publications and legislative histories. Also includes member biographies, committee assignments, voting records, and financial data; and the full text of key regulatory and statutory resources. Requires current Hofstra network account.
CQ Encyclopedia of U.S.-Latin American Relations This link opens in a new window Highlights the political relationships between the U.S. and Latin America, since the year 1800. Requires current Hofstra network account.
CQ Historic Documents This link opens in a new window Published annually since 1972, the Historic Documents Series primary source documents ranging from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions. Requires current Hofstra network account.
CQ Political Handbook of the World This link opens in a new window Provides information on the major aspects of each country's government and political party system, including key facts, government and political history, current issues, political parties and organizations, legislatures and cabinets, and communications information. Also profiles more than 38 non-UN intergovernmental organizations, such as OPEC, NATO, the WTO, regional banks, and the agencies and specialized bodies of the United Nations.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window Includes PAIS International & PAIS Archive. PAIS International includes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more from over 120 countries throughout the world. In English and other languages. PAIS Archive includes monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics. Content relates to public and social policies, such as Prohibition, suffrage, pacifism, civil rights, McCarthyism, Vietnam War, and Watergate. Requires current Hofstra network account.
Politics Collection This link opens in a new window Includes: PAIS Index, Policy File Index, Political Science Database and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. (see "Additional info")
Links for individual databases included in this collection:
- PAIS Index‎ (1914 - current):Includes PAIS International & PAIS Archive. PAIS International includes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more from over 120 countries throughout the world. In English and other languages. PAIS Archive includes monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics. Content relates to public and social policies, such as Prohibition, suffrage, pacifism, civil rights, McCarthyism, Vietnam War, and Watergate.
- Policy File Index‎ (1990 - current): resource for information on public policy issues with indexing and linking to the output of over 350 think tanks and similar organizations.
- Political Science Database‎ (1985 - current): Includes over 140 leading political science and international relations journals.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts‎ (1975 - current): Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration & policy.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration & policy. Requires current Hofstra network account.

Selected Websites

U.S. Federal government resources

CIA World Factbook Produced by the United States Central Intelligence Agency, provides basic information about countries of the world including demographics, political structure, geography, etc.
Country Reports on Human Rights Practices Submitted annually to Congress, reports on the status of internationally recognized human rights practices
Country Reports on Terrorism Submitted annually to Congress, reports on where terrorist acts have occurred, state sponsorship of terrorism and assessments of terrorist groups.
Foreign Relations of the United States "The University of Wisconsin Digital Collections Center (UWDCC) has digitized the Foreign Relations of the United States series, the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication. Currently, 245 volumes are available, with the remaining volumes to be digitized by May 2007."
Library of Congress Country Studies
U.S. Department of State Official homepage of State Department. See sections on policy issues, countries and regions, democracy and global affairs, public diplomacy and public affairs.