LibGuides: About the Libraries: Home

Hofstra University Libraries

The Joan and Donald E. Axinn Library

The Joan and Donald E. Axinn Library is located in the heart of the campus at the south side of the Unispan across from the Student Center. The library contains 600,000 print volumes, 24/7 online access to more than 220,000 full-text journals, over 800,000 electronic books, and nearly 300 Databases. The Axinn library building was completed in 1967 and named the Joan and Donald E. Axinn Library in 1988. The architects were Warner, Burns, Toan & Lunde. Their building design won the 1966 annual award of the Concrete Industry Board of New York in recognition of its innovative design.

Collections:
Curriculum Materials
Film & Media Collection
Music Library
Special Collections
John W. Wydler Government Documents Depository (electronic)

The Law Library

The Law Library is located on the south side of campus on California Ave. It contains 593,830 print and microform volumes, as well as an expanding number of electronic resources. Its print and electronic holdings include statutes, codes and case law for all state and federal jurisdictions; a comprehensive collection of English language legal periodicals; treatises; encyclopedias; digests; citators; looseleaf services; comparative and international legal materials; and selected foreign legal materials. Additionally, the Library serves as a selective depository for U.S. government publications.
Visit their website for more information.

The Health Sciences Library

The Health Sciences Library is located on the second floor of the Zucker School of Medicine building on the north side of campus just east of the Hempstead Turnpike entrance. The Health Sciences Library serves the Zucker School of Medicine and graduate programs of the School of Nursing and Physician Assistant Studies. The library is the hub for information literacy, connecting students and faculty to comprehensive resources and services which support learning, scholarship, innovation, patient-centered clinical care, and improving the health of the community. Thousands of electronic journals, textbooks, and databases can be accessed 24/7 both on campus and off-site. Spaces for quiet individual study are available.

The library is for study purposes for Zucker School of Medicine students and faculty only. The Library is open all hours that the main building is open.

Card access to the Zucker School of Medicine building is required during off hours. During staffed hours users may access the reserve collection of print books and receive assistance with literature searches, interlibrary loan requests, and other reference questions.

Visit the Health Sciences Library website for more information.