LibGuides: Political Science Subject Guide: American Presidency

Suggested databases

CQ Guide to the Presidency and the Executive Branch This link opens in a new window Offers facts and analytical chapters that explain the structure, powers, and operations of the office and the president’s relationship with Congress and the Supreme Court. Requires current Hofstra network account.
CQ Vital Statistics on the Presidency This link opens in a new window Statistical coverage of public approval of the president, elections, vetoes, executive orders, foreign affairs, the executive branch, congressional and judicial relations, public appearances, and much more. Requires current Hofstra network account.

Academic Study Centers

Government Information

Public Papers of the Presidents Official series contains statements, messages, remarks, appointments, nominations, executive orders, memoranda, etc.
see note...close notes
Print series covers Hoover through George W. Bush. George H.W. Bush through George W. Bush also available online.
Compiliation of Presidential Documents Official publication of presidential statements, messages, remarks, and other materials released by the White House Press Secretary. Series began in 1965.
see note...close notes
Available online from 1992 to the present.
Foreign Relations of the United States This series is considered the official documentary historical record of U.S. foreign policy. Compiled by the State Department's Office of the Historian, the series numbers over 350 volumes from 1861 to 1975 (Nixon).
see note...close notes
Many of the more recent volumes are available online. Print volumes are located in the Axinn Library main floor study area (please ask at the Reference Desk).
White House Official site for the current administration
Executive Office of the President Offers access to all offices in both the executive office and White House office.

U.S. Presidential Library

The HeinOnline U.S. Presidential Library is a comprehensive digital collection of resources relating to the U.S. Presidency, It includes such titles as Messages and Papers of the Presidents (22 vols. beginning with George Washington and ending with Herbert Hoover), Public Papers of the Presidents (begins with Herbert Hoover; latest edition is Barack Obama 2009), Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents and CFR Title 3 series (text of formal presidential documents from 1936-current).

There are also a number of additional historical titles in the collection including the Book of the American Presidents (1939), Electoral System of the United States (1906), Powers of the Presidency During Crises (1960), The Presidency: Its Duties, Its Powers, Its Opportunities, and Its Limitations (WH Taft, 1916), Presidential Power: The Politics of Leadership (RE Neustadt, 1960) as well as presidential biographies, commission reports, and much more!

Political Science Subject Guide

Presidential Transition 2021

Suggested databases

Academic Study Centers

Government Information

U.S. Presidential Library