LibGuides: Political Science Subject Guide: Find Research Reports

Sources for Research Reports

Congressional Budget Office (CBO) CBO provides federal budget and other fiscal policy information to Congress. Produces reports on fiscal implication of public policy issues. Click on "Publications" tab.

Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window Provides access to research reports from the Congressional Research Service on a wide variety of topics as well as bills, testimony, and hearings of the United States Congress. Available to Hofstra University community only.

Government Accountability Office (GAO) GAO is the "watchdog" of Congress. GAO reports are available on a wide range of policy issues.

PAIS Index This link opens in a new window Includes PAIS International & PAIS Archive. PAIS International includes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more from over 120 countries throughout the world. In English and other languages. PAIS Archive includes monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics. Content relates to public and social policies, such as Prohibition, suffrage, pacifism, civil rights, McCarthyism, Vietnam War, and Watergate.

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Research reports covering the areas of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published online 44 times a year by CQ Press.

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports: CRS is a service of the Library of Congress whose purpose is to provide Congress with nonpartisan and objective research and analysis on public policy issues. CRS researchers are scholars in their particular fields of expertise usually holding advanced degrees. CRS Reports are available as follows (the websites vary in dates and subjects covered):

Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window .

Congressional Research Service Provides access to current CRS reports.
ARCHIVE-IT is a free searchable website that archives CRS reports from a number of resources.
EveryCRSreport.com provides access to over 8,000 recent CRS reports. According to the site, "it's every CRS report that's available on Congress's internal website." (see the ABOUT page)
Federation of American Scientists CRS Reports
Homeland Security Digital Library
University of North Texas Digital Library CRS Reports Collection

Think tanks are often a good source for reports

The following is a list of research institutes (aka THINK TANKS). Please make sure to read ABOUT US and/or MISSION STATEMENT to determine if the group may have a particular political leaning.