Skip to main content

A Step-By-Step Guide to Using Zotero: Creating Bibliographies in Word

This guide will get you started collecting your sources in Zotero and using them to create in-text citations and bibliographies or works cited lists.

Citing and Creating Bibliographies

You can create bibliographies in multiple ways.

1. You can simply drag and drop citations from Zotero into Word.

  • I strongly recommend that you specify the bibliographic format you want to use.
  • You can set your preferences in Word. To set your preferences in Word, open up the Add-Ins group, which opens the Zotero plugins that you have installed
  • You can also select your preferences in Zotero

2. You can copy either an entire collection or select items either onto a clipboard or save them to a separate document

3. You can "cite as you write" in Word.

Getting Your Bibliography Into Word

DRAG AND DROP

COPY AN ENTIRE BIBLIOGRAPHY

From Zotero, right click on the collection you wish to use for your bibliography and select Create Bibliography From Collection


You will then be offered a set of output alternatives.

If you Copy to Clipboard you can simply paste the bibliography into Word.

 

Edit Your Bibliography

Zotero is a powerful bibliographic management tool, but it is just a piece of software. For a variety or reasons, your bibliography may not appear exactly as you expect or want. MAKE SURE YOU EDIT YOUR BIBLIOGRAPHY!!!



This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University