Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Geography: Reference Works

A Subject Guide

Contents

Home

Books

Journal Articles

Newspaper Articles

Statistics

Reports                                       

Reference Works

Web Sites

Maps

QuickTips

Reference Works

Online (links to these and other online resources in the library catalog)

International Encyclopedia of Human Geography
Amsterdam ; London ; Oxford : Elsevier, c2009
Click on the title to access the library catalog entry.  Then click on the View eBook link to access.

The Routledge Handbook of Urban Ecology
Abingdon, Oxon [England] ; New York : Routledge, c2011
Click on the title to access the library catalog entry.  Then click on the View eBook link to access.

Encyclopedia of Sustainability
Santa Barbara, Calif. : Greenwood Press, c2010
Click on the title to access the library catalog entry.  Then click on the View eBook link to access.

The Hutchinson Dictionary of Geography
Abingdon : Helicon Publishing, 2005
Click on the title to access the library catalog entry.  Then click on the View eBook link to access.

Cultural Geography: A Critical Dictionary of Key Concepts
Edited by David Atkinson et al.
London: I. B. Tauris & Co, 2005
Click on the title to access the library catalog entry. Then click on the View eBook link to access.

In Print (check the library catalog for more)

Encyclopedia of Human Geography
Edited by Barney Warf
Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c2006
Location: Axinn Reference Room
Call Number: GF4 .E54 2006

Cultural Geography: A Critical Dictionary of Key Concepts
Edited by David Atkinson et al.
London: I. B. Tauris & Co, 2005
Location: Axinn Stacks
Call Number: GF41 .C852 2005

Handbook of Cultural Geography
Edited by Kay Anderson et al.
Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, 2003
Location: Axinn Stacks
Call Number:  GF51 .H36 2003

The Penguin dictionary of geography, 3rd ed.
By Audrey N. Clark
London, England ; New York, N.Y., USA : Penguin Books, 2003.
Location: Axinn Reference Room
Call Number: G63 .C562 2003

Encyclopedia of exploration to 1800 : a comprehensive reference guide to the history and literature of exploration, travel, and colonization from the earliest times to the year 1800.
By Raymond John Howgego
Potts Point, N.S.W. : Hordern House, 2003
Location: Axinn Reference Room
Call Number: G80 .H68 2003

Basic Library Information

Contact Information

Alan Bailin, M.L.S, Ph.D.
Professor
Library Services
902c Axinn Library
516-463-5973

Alan.Bailin@hofstra.edu

Use the contact information above to arrange an appointment. Click on the button below for a scheduled time slot.

Hofstra University

This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University