Resource Guide for Teaching Writing Intensive Courses: Digital Media and Writing
The purpose of this guide is to point you to some resources that may assist you in developing and teaching Writing Intensive courses. This guide includes general resources on writing pedagogy as well as resources appropriate for specific disciplines.
Teaching Writing with Digital Media
An increasing number of books have appeared in recent years about teaching writing in the context of new and emerging media and across an increasing variety of platforms. Below is a sample of some of these books. Included here as well are books on social media and developing online writing courses.
Recommended Books
-
Big bot on campus : the perils and potential of ChatGPT and other AI
by
The rise of ChatGPT has alarmed -- and excited -- academics about the future of artificial intelligence. How should professors evaluate student writing and protect against cheating? What jobs will be lost? What efficiencies will be gained? And ChatGPT is only the beginning. This collection contains many of The Chronicle's best and latest reads on how AI is changing higher education. Read on and hang on -- it's going to be a fascinating ride. -- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: Oversize Q335 .C47 2023ISBN: 1390631560Publication Date: 2023 -
Complex Worlds
by
'Complex Worlds: Digital Culture, Rhetoric, and Professional Communication' is a collection of thought-provoking scholarly essays by teachers and industry practitioners in professional communication and technology-oriented fields. Scrupulously edited for a range of readers, the collection aims to help familiarize advanced students, teachers, and researchers in professional communication, computers and writing, literacy, and sister disciplines with key issues in digital theory and practice. An emphasis on the situations of and audiences for digital communication identifies 'Complex Worlds' as a rhetorical approach. In an era when globalizing markets and digital technologies are transforming culture around the world, readers should find the collection both engaging and timely. The collections' twelve essays constitute a diverse and thematically coherent set of inquiries. Included are explorations of topics such as cyber activism, digital 'dispositio', citizen and open-source journalism, broadband affordances, XML, digital resumes, avant garde performance art, best pedagogical practices, and intercultural communication between East and West, North and South. The text is especially well suited for advanced courses in professional and applied writing, contemporary rhetorics, and digital culture. The complexity highlighted in the collection's title is brought into relief by authors who address how the digital is daily unmaking our assumptions about the boundaries between work and school, the global and the local, the private and the public. 'Complex Worlds' offers readers an opportunity to build on their rhetorical awareness by expanding their understanding of the means, aims, and strategies of effective communication--today and in the future.
Call Number: PE1127.S3 C65 2017ISBN: 1138637351Publication Date: 2017-03-29 -
Composing Place
by
Composing Place takes an innovative approach to engaging with the compositional affordances of mobile technologies. Mobile, wearable, and spatial computing technologies are more than the latest marketing gimmick from a perpetually proximate future; they are rather an emerging composing platform through which digital writers will increasingly create and distribute place-based multimodal texts. Jacob Greene utilizes and develops a rhetorical framework through which writers can leverage the affordances of these technologies by drawing on theoretical approaches within rhetorical studies, multimodal composition, and spatial theory, as well as emerging "maker" practices within digital humanities and critical media studies, to show how emerging mobile technologies are poised to transform theories, practices, and pedagogies of digital writing. Greene identifies three emerging "modalities" through which mobile technologies are being used by digital writers. First, to counter dominant discourses in contested spaces; second, to historicize entrenched narratives in iconic spaces; and third, to amplify marginalized voices in mundane spaces. Through these modalities, Greene employs Indigenous philosophies and theories that upend the ways that the discipline has centered placed-based rhetorics, offering digital writers better strategies for using mobile media as a platform for civic deliberation, social advocacy, and political action. Composing Place offers close analyses of mobile media experiences created by various artists and digital media practitioners, as well as detailed overviews of Greene's own projects (also accessible through the companion website: www.composingplace.com). These projects include a digital "countertour" of SeaWorld that demonstrates the ways in which the attraction is driven by capitalism; an augmented reality tour of Detroit's Woodward Avenue; and a mobile advocacy project in Jacksonville, Florida, that demonstrates the inequitable effects of car-centric public infrastructure. Ultimately, by engaging with these theoretical frameworks, rhetorical design principles, and pedagogical practices of mobile writing, readers can utilize the unique affordances of mobile media in various teaching and research contexts.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781646423569Publication Date: 2023-04-01 -
-
Web Writing
by
The essays in "Web Writing" respond to contemporary debates over the proper role of the Internet in higher education, steering a middle course between polarized attitudes that often dominate the conversation. The authors argue for the wise integration of web tools into what the liberal arts does best: writing across the curriculum. All academic disciplines value clear and compelling prose, whether that prose comes in the shape of a persuasive essay, scientific report, or creative expression. The act of writing visually demonstrates how we think in original and critical ways and in ways that are deeper than those that can be taught or assessed by a computer. Furthermore, learning to write well requires engaged readers who encourage and challenge us to revise our muddled first drafts and craft more distinctive and informed points of view. Indeed, a new generation of web-based tools for authoring, annotating, editing, and publishing can dramatically enrich the writing process, but doing so requires liberal arts educators to rethink why and how we teach this skill, and to question those who blindly call for embracing or rejecting technology.
Call Number: PN171.O55 W43 2015ISBN: 9780472052820Publication Date: 2015-04-21 -
Writing for Social Media
by
Engaging with customers through social media is essential for businesses in this day and age. Writing for social media can be difficult to get right and even big brands can get it very wrong.This book walks you through how to deliver maximum benefit for your business through your social media writing. Topics include how to develop an online persona, how to tailor your messages across different social media platforms, how to appeal to your audience, and how to use social media tools.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781780174518Publication Date: 2018-11-01 -
Writing on the Social Network
by
Writing on the Social Network builds upon traditions in longitudinal writing research to present a longer view of the impact of social media technologies on individuals' literacy practices. Amber M. Buck considers user experiences and digital literacy practices that developed on these platforms in the first decade of social media and calls for a larger acknowledgment of social network sites as locations where individuals engage in sophisticated and literate activity. Through qualitative case study research, Buck explores how literate activities on social network sites coalesced around three areas crucial for writing in digital environments: (1) a heightened awareness of audience and an ability to tailor messages to specific audiences; (2) an understanding of how personal data is collected and circulated in online spaces; and (3) a means through which to use the first two skills for self-promotion and self-presentation in both personal and professional settings. She identifies several distinct literacy practices and strategies used by participants to communicate effectively and addresses how these strategies can help writing researchers and internet scholars understand the impact of social media's first decade and can inform the ways they will research and understand social media's second decade. Social media platforms represent important locations where the different influences on writing become visible. Writing on the Social Network is a close study of the rich literate practices individuals have engaged in on social network sites over the last ten years that allows for a better understanding of the role social media plays in shaping digital literacy.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781646424023Publication Date: 2023-12-01
For the BuzzFeed Age: A Non-Standard Guide to Language
-
A World Without Whom
by
"A provocative and jaunty romp through the dos and don'ts of writing for the internet" (NYT)--the practical, the playful, and the politically correct--from BuzzFeed copy chief Emmy Favilla. A World Without "Whom"isEats, Shoots & Leavesfor the internet age, and BuzzFeed global copy chief Emmy Favilla is the witty go-to style guru of webspeak. As language evolves faster than ever before, what is the future of "correct" writing? When Favilla was tasked with creating a style guide for BuzzFeed, she opted for spelling, grammar, and punctuation guidelines that would reflect not only the site's lighthearted tone, but also how readers actually use language IRL. With wry cleverness and an uncanny intuition for the possibilities of internet-age expression, Favilla makes a case for breaking the rules laid out by Strunk and White: A world without "whom," she argues, is a world with more room for writing that's clear, timely, pleasurable, and politically aware. Featuring priceless emoji strings, sidebars, quizzes, and style debates among the most lovable word nerds in the digital media world--of which Favilla is queen--A World Without "Whom"is essential for readers and writers of virtually everything: news articles, blog posts, tweets, texts, emails, and whatever comes next . . . so basically everyone.
Call Number: PN147 .F38 2017ISBN: 9781632867575Publication Date: 2017-11-14
Favilla is the copy chief at BuzzFeed and developed the BuzzFeed Style Guide, the word list for which can be found in Appendix I of this book. The book is an unapologetic argument for accepting, without bemoaning, the reality of language change, regional differences in language use, and the influence of social media. Whether you agree, disagree or some combination of both, the book is worth looking at.
Teaching Online
-
Curriculum Development and Online Instruction for the 21st Century
by
The world of education has undergone major changes within the last year that have pushed online instruction to the forefront of learning. Thanks to the COVID-19 pandemic, online learning has become paramount to the continued and uninterrupted teaching of students and has forced students and teachers alike to adjust to an online learning environment. Though some have already returned to the traditional classroom, or plan to very soon, others have begun to appreciate the value of online education - initiatives that had previously been discussed but never acted upon as they have been in the past year. With plenty of positive and negative aspects, online learning is a complex issue with numerous factors to consider. It is an issue that must be studied and examined in order to improve in the future. Curriculum Development and Online Instruction for the 21st Century examines the issues and difficulties of online teaching and learning, as well as potential solutions and best practices. This book includes an examination on the value of teaching fully via the internet as well as the challenges inherent in the training of teachers to teach in online environments. While addressing key elements of remote learning, such as keeping student data safe, as well as methods in which to engage students, this book covers topics that include assessment tools, teaching deaf students, web technology, and standardized curricula. Ideal for K-12 teachers, college faculty, curriculum developers, instructional designers, educational software developers, administrators, academicians, researchers, and students, this book provides a thorough overview of online education and the benefits and issues that accompany it.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781799876564Publication Date: 2021-06-25 -
Digital Writing Technologies in Higher Education
by
This open access book serves as a comprehensive guide to digital writing technology, featuring contributions from over 20 renowned researchers from various disciplines around the world. The book is designed to provide a state-of-the-art synthesis of the developments in digital writing in higher education, making it an essential resource for anyone interested in this rapidly evolving field. In the first part of the book, the authors offer an overview of the impact that digitalization has had on writing, covering more than 25 key technological innovations and their implications for writing practices and pedagogical uses. Drawing on these chapters, the second part of the book explores the theoretical underpinnings of digital writing technology such as writing and learning, writing quality, formulation support, writing and thinking, and writing processes. The authors provide insightful analysis on the impact of these developments and offer valuable insights into the future of writing. Overall, this book provides a cohesive and consistent theoretical view of the new realities of digital writing, complementing existing literature on the digitalization of writing. It is an essential resource for scholars, educators, and practitioners interested in the intersection of technology and writing.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9783031360336Publication Date: 2023-09-16 -
Foundational Practices of Online Writing Instruction
by
Foundational Practices of Online Writing Instruction addresses administrators' and instructors' questions for developing online writing programs and courses. Written by experts in the field, this book uniquely attends to issues of inclusive and accessible online writing instruction in technology-enhanced settings, as well as teaching with mobile technologies and multimodal compositions.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781602356672Publication Date: 2015-04-15 -
