Skip to main content
Guides to Major Citation Formats
APA:- 6th Edition
- Click here for a basic guide to commonly-used types of sources for Works Cited Lists.
- Check the APA Quick Answers-References site for information on citing various electronic formats, including Facebook, YouTube, websites, etc., as well as for information on in-text citations.
- See the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) for more thorough information about in-text citations and Works Cited Lists.
- For the most complete information, please refer to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, shown at the bottom of this page.
MLA - 8th Edition
- Click here for a guide to both Works Cited Lists and in-text citations for some of the most commonly-used types of sources.
- See the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) for an extensive guide to MLA style for both in-text citations and Works Cited Lists.
- For the most complete information, please refer to the MLA Handbook, shownat the bottom of this page.
Chicago Manual of Style - 17th Edition
- Hofstra subscribes to The Chicago Manual of Style online.
- OWL has not yet published a guide to the latest (17th) edition of the Chicago Manual of Style.
- In addition to the online version of the Chicago Manual of Style, the print version is available at the reference desk at Axinn Library.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by In addition to providing guidance on grammar, the mechanics of writing, and APA style, this manual offers an authoritative reference and citation system. It also covers the treatment of numbers, statistical and mathematical data, tables and figures.
Call Number: Z253 .P83 2010 (at Axinn Library Reference Desk)
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Works are published today in a dizzying range of formats. A book, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to in an audio version. On the Web, modes of publication are regularly invented, combined, and modified. Previous editions of the MLA Handbook provided separate instructions for each format, and additional instructions were required for new formats. In this groundbreaking new edition of its best-selling handbook, the MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type of source. Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list.
Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2016 (Axinn Library Reference Desk)
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
The Chicago Manual of Style by Technologies may change, but the need for clear and accurate communication never goes out of style. That is why for more than one hundred years The Chicago Manual of Style has remained the definitive guide for anyone who works with words. In the seven years since the previous edition debuted, we have seen an extraordinary evolution in the way we create and share knowledge. This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. It recognizes the needs of those who are self-publishing or following open access or Creative Commons publishing models. The citation chapters reflect the ever-expanding universe of electronic sources--including social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content--and also offer updated guidelines on such issues as DOIs, time stamps, and e-book locators. Other improvements are independent of technological change. The chapter on grammar and usage includes an expanded glossary of problematic words and phrases and a new section on syntax as well as updated guidance on gender-neutral pronouns and bias-free language. Key sections on punctuation and basic citation style have been reorganized and clarified. To facilitate navigation, headings and paragraph titles have been revised and clarified throughout. And the bibliography has been updated and expanded to include the latest and best resources available. This edition continues to reflect expert insights gathered from Chicago's own staff and from an advisory board of publishing experts from across the profession. It also includes suggestions inspired by emails, calls, and even tweets from readers. No matter how much the means of communication change, The Chicago Manual of Style remains the ultimate resource for those who care about getting the details right.
Call Number: Z253 .U69 2017 (Axinn Library Reference Desk)
Publication Date: 2017-09-05
This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University