Resource Guide for Teaching Writing Intensive Courses: Writing in the Disciplines

Discipline-Specific Writing by John Flowerdew (Editor); Tracey Costley (Editor) Discipline-Specific Writing provides an introduction and guide to the teaching of this topic for students and trainee teachers. This book highlights the importance of discipline-specific writing as a critical area of competence for students, and covers both the theory and practice of teaching this crucial topic. With chapters from practitioners and researchers working across a wide range of contexts around the world, Discipline-Specific Writing: Explores teaching strategies in a variety of specific areas including science and technology, social science and business; Discusses curriculum development, course design and assessment, providing a framework for the reader; Analyses the teaching of language features including grammar and vocabulary for academic writing; Demonstrates the use of genre analysis, annotated bibliographies and corpora as tools for teaching; Provides practical suggestions for use in the classroom, questions for discussion and additional activities with each chapter. Discipline-Specific Writing is key reading for students taking courses in English for Specific Purposes, Applied Linguistics, TESOL, TEFL and CELTA.

Entering the Conversations by Trace Schillinger; Andrew Stock The authors of Entering the Conversations invite us into their classrooms and professional development workshops to see how students at all levels of instruction can learn both the subject matter and the discipline-specific practices for reading and writing about that subject matter. Yes, the inquiry-based, project method instruction the authors describe helps students meet requirements for literacy and subject matter learning experiences, including those named in the Common Core State Standards. But more important, we see the engagement and enthusiasm of students caught up in their roles as knowledge makers. As emerging field-based specialists, these students address real-world issues such as the reintroduction of wolves to US ecosystems and how to shape attitudes toward social revolution. In doing so, they demonstrate the value of having students read and write information-rich texts in multiple genres and media. As natural legacies of the Writing Across the Curriculum movement, the authors’ approaches to teaching literacies in the disciplines present a portrait of teachers as continual learners for and with their students. These approaches can help change the conversations about best practice in literacy learning and teaching, whether in the English classroom or across the disciplines.

Sustainable WAC by Michelle Cox; Jeffrey R. Galin; Dan Melzer Winner of the 2021 Association for Writing Across the Curriculum/WAC Clearinghouse award for Best WAC Monograph A 2008 survey of Writing Across the Curriculum (WAC) programs found that nearly half of those identified in a 1987 survey no longer existed twenty years later, pointing to a need for an approach to WAC administration that leads to programs that persist over time. In Sustainable WAC, current or former WAC program directors Michelle Cox, Jeffrey R. Galin, and Dan Melzer introduce a theoretical framework for WAC program development that takes into account the diverse contexts of today's institutions of higher education, aids WAC program directors in thinking strategically as they develop programs, and integrates a focus on program sustainability.  Informed by theories that illuminate transformative change within systems--complexity, systems, social network, resilience, and sustainable development theories--and illustrated with vignettes by WAC directors across the country, this book lays out principles, strategies, and tactics to help WAC program directors launch, relaunch, or reinvigorate programs within the complicated systems of today's colleges and universities. Acknowledging that every WAC program grows out of a specific institutional context and grassroots movement, this book is a must-read for everyone currently involved in a WAC program or interested in exploring the possibility of one at their college or university.

Teaching Through the Archives by Tarez Samra Graban (Editor); Wendy Hayden (Editor); Disruptive pedagogies for archival research In a cultural moment when institutional repositories carry valuable secrets to the present and past, this collection argues for the critical, intellectual, and social value of archival instruction. Graban and Hayden and 37 other contributors examine how undergraduate and graduate courses in rhetoric, history, community literacy, and professional writing can successfully engage students in archival research in its many forms, and successfully model mutually beneficial relationships between archivists, instructors, and community organizations. Combining new and established voices from related fields, each of the book's three sections includes a range of form-disrupting pedagogies. Section I focuses on how approaching the archive primarily as text fosters habits of mind essential for creating and using archives, for critiquing or inventing knowledge-making practices, and for being good stewards of private and public collections. Section II argues for conducting archival projects as collaboration through experiential learning and for developing a preservationist consciousness through disciplined research. Section III details praxis for revealing, critiquing, and intervening in historic racial omissions and gaps in the archives in which we all work.  Ultimately, contributors explore archives as sites of activism while also raising important questions that persist in rhetoric and composition scholarship, such as how to decolonize research methodologies, how to conduct teaching and research that promote social justice, and how to shift archival consciousness toward more engaged notions of democracy. This collection highlights innovative classroom and curricular course models for teaching with and through the archives in rhetoric and composition and beyond.

Composition, Rhetoric, and Disciplinarity by Rita Malenczyk (Editor); Susan Miller-Cochran (Editor); Elizabeth Wardle (Editor); Kathleen Yancey (Editor) Edited by four nationally recognized leaders of composition scholarship, Composition, Rhetoric, and Disciplinarity asks a fundamental question: can Composition and Rhetoric, as a discipline, continue its historical commitment to pedagogy without sacrificing equal attention to other areas, such as research and theory? In response, contributors to the volume address disagreements about what it means to be called a discipline rather than a profession or a field; elucidate tensions over the defined breadth of Composition and Rhetoric; and consider the roles of research and responsibility as Composition and Rhetoric shifts from field to discipline. Outlining a field with a complex and unusual formation story, Composition, Rhetoric, and Disciplinarity employs several lenses for understanding disciplinarity--theory, history, labor, and pedagogy--and for teasing out the implications of disciplinarity for students, faculty, institutions, and Composition and Rhetoric itself. Collectively, the chapters speak to the intellectual and embodied history leading to this po∫ to questions about how disciplinarity is, and might be, understood, especially with regard to Composition and Rhetoric; to the curricular, conceptual, labor, and other sites of tension inherent in thinking about Composition and Rhetoric as a discipli≠ and to the implications of Composition and Rhetoric's disciplinarity for the future. Contributors: Linda Adler-Kassner, Elizabeth H. Boquet, Christiane Donahue, Whitney Douglas, Doug Downs, Heidi Estrem, Kristine Hansen, Doug Hesse, Sandra Jamieson, Neal Lerner, Jennifer Helene Maher, Barry Maid, Jaime Armin Mejía, Carolyn R. Miller, Kelly Myers, Gwendolynne Reid, Liane Robertson, Rochelle Rodrigo, Dawn Shepherd, Kara Taczak

Developing Writers in Higher Education by Anne Ruggles Gere For undergraduates following any course of study, it is essential to develop the ability to write effectively. Yet the processes by which students become more capable and ready to meet the challenges of writing for employers, the wider public, and their own purposes remain largely invisible. Developing Writers in Higher Education shows how learning to write for various purposes in multiple disciplines leads college students to new levels of competence. This volume draws on an in-depth study of the writing and experiences of 169 University of Michigan undergraduates, using statistical analysis of 322 surveys, qualitative analysis of 131 interviews, use of corpus linguistics on 94 electronic portfolios and 2,406 pieces of student writing, and case studies of individual students to trace the multiple paths taken by student writers. Topics include student writers' interaction with feedback; perceptions of genre; the role of disciplinary writing; generality and certainty in student writing; students' concepts of voice and style; students' understanding of multimodal and digital writing; high school's influence on college writers; and writing development after college. The digital edition offers samples of student writing, electronic portfolios produced by student writers, transcripts of interviews with students, and explanations of some of the analysis conducted by the contributors. This is an important book for researchers and graduate students in multiple fields. Those in writing studies get an overview of other longitudinal studies as well as key questions currently circulating. For linguists, it demonstrates how corpus linguistics can inform writing studies. Scholars in higher education will gain a new perspective on college student development. The book also adds to current understandings of sociocultural theories of literacy and offers prospective teachers insights into how students learn to write. Finally, for high school teachers, this volume will answer questions about college writing. Companion Website Click here to access the Developing Writers project and its findings at the interactive companion website. Project Data Access the data from the project through this tutorial.

Interdisciplinary Practices in Academia by Louisa Buckingham (Editor); Jihua Dong (Editor); Feng (Kevin) Jiang (Editor) This volume addresses the implications that academic interdisciplinarity in the field of English for Academic Purposes (EAP) and English for Specific Purposes (ESP) has for research and pedagogy with a global reach. The Editors present a coherent, research-supported analysis of the influence of interdisciplinary research and methods on the way academics collaborate on courses, develop their careers and teach students. The hitherto prevalence of disciplinary silo-like approaches to academic and scientific issues is increasingly ceding ground to an interdisciplinary synergy of different methodological and epistemological traditions. In the context of ongoing trends towards interdisciplinarity in degree programmes and the increasing popularity of such degree programmes with students (e.g., bioinformatics, computational linguistics, psycholinguistics, neuropolitics, evolutionary finance, global studies, and security studies), academics and programme administrators need awareness of the skills needed to operate in interdisciplinary contexts. Studies in this edited volume examine interdisciplinary communication practices, and identify how academic writing, teaching, language proficiency assessment and degree programmes are responding to changes in the broader social, institutional and political contexts of academia. As authors in the volume demonstrate, the discursive features, literacy practices and instructional modes, and the student experience of these emerging interdisciplines deserve systematic exploration. This insightful volume sheds light on contexts across the globe and will be used by students studying EAP and ESP pedagogy or practice; academics in the fields of applied linguistics and higher education, as well as higher education faculty and administrators interested in interdisciplinarity in degree programmes.

A Multidisciplinary Exploration into Flow in Writing by Deborah F. Rossen-Knill; Katherine L. Schaefer; Matthew W. Bayne; Whitney Gegg-Harrison; Dev Crasta; Alessandra DiMauro Offering a multidisciplinary exploration of "flow" and the often-nebulous ways it is conceptualized and operationalized in writing pedagogy, this book addresses a critical gap in Writing Studies and will be of interest to students and instructors in the field of academic, professional and creative writing studies.

Strategies and Tactics for Multidisciplinary Writing by Kemi Elufiede (Editor); Carissa Barker Stucky (Editor) Across a wide range of fields of study and academic interests, there is often a common denominator in the need for successful, concise, and well-researched communications in the form of writing. Whether it be accessing credible research, pre-writing practices, or taking writing to the next level from good to excellent, there is a constant need for teaching writing skills and methods effectively as well as utilizing what has been learned within real-life applications to create quality written content. With composers of the written word ranging from students to researchers to business owners and more, multidisciplinary writing encompasses a range of research devoted to enhancing writing skills and providing an understanding of the writing process across diverse fields of interest. Strategies and Tactics for Multidisciplinary Writing provides writers in the professional and academic sphere resources for enhancing their writing skills through a clear understanding of the writing process. The chapters focus on the multiple stages of writing including planning, researching, drafting, revising, and more. While highlighting specific topics such as writing in virtual environments, topic research, writing for the internet, and pre-writing practices, this book is ideally intended for writers in the professional and academic spheres as well as practitioners, stakeholders, researchers, academicians, and students interested in multidisciplinary writing.

Writing Across Contexts by Kathleen Yancey; Liane Robertson; Kara Taczak Addressing how composers transfer both knowledge about and practices of writing,nbsp;Writing across Contextsnbsp;explores the grounding theory behind a specific composition curriculum called Teaching for Transfer (TFT) and analyzes the efficacy of the approach. Finding that TFT courses aid students in transfer in ways that other kinds of composition courses do not, the authors demonstrate that the content of this curriculum, including its reflective practice, provides a unique set of resources for students to call on and repurpose for new writing tasks. The authors provide a brief historical review, give attention to current curricular efforts designed to promote such transfer, and develop new insights into the role of prior knowledge in students' ability to transfer writing knowledge and practice, presenting three models of how students respond to and use new knowledge--assemblage, remix, and critical incident. A timely and significant contribution to the field,nbsp;Writing across Contextsnbsp;will be of interest to graduate students, composition scholars, WAC and writing-in-the-disciplines scholars, and writing program administrators. nbsp;

Genre Across the Curriculum by Anne Herrington (Editor); Charles Moran (Editor) Genre across the Curriculum will function as a "good" textbook, one not for the student, but for the teacher, and one with an eye on the context of writing. Here you will find models of practice, descriptions written by teachers who have integrated the teaching of genre into their pedagogy in ways that both support and empower the student writer. While authors here look at courses across disciplines and across a range of genres, they are similar in presenting genre as situated within specific classrooms, disciplines, and institutions. Their assignments embody the pedagogy of a particular teacher, and student responses here embody students' prior experiences with writing. In each chapter, the authors define a particular genre, define the learning goals implicit in assigning that genre, explain how they help their students work through the assignment, and, finally, discuss how they evaluate the writing their students do in response to their teaching.

Genres Across the Disciplines by Hilary Nesi Genres across the Disciplines presents cutting edge, corpus-based research into student writing in higher education. Genres across the Disciplines is essential reading for those involved in syllabus and materials design for the development of writing in higher education, as well as for those investigating EAP. The book explores creativity and the use of metaphor as students work towards becoming experts in the genres of their discipline. Grounded in the British Academic Written English (BAWE) corpus, the text is rich with authentic examples of assignment tasks, macrostructures, concordances and keywords. Also available separately as a hardback.

Landmark Essays on Rhetorical Genre Studies by Carolyn R. Miller (Editor); Amy J. Devitt (Editor) Landmark Essays on Rhetorical Genre Studies gathers major works that have contributed to the recent rhetorical reconceptualization of genre. A lively and complex field developed over the past 30 years, Rhetorical Genre Studies is central to many current research and teaching agendas. This collection, which is organized both thematically and chronologically, explores genre research across a range of disciplinary interests but with a specific focus on rhetoric and composition. With introductions by the co-editors to frame and extend each section, this volume helps readers understand and contextualize both the foundations of the field and the central themes and insights that have emerged. It will be of particular interest to students and scholars working on topics related to composition, rhetoric, professional and technical writing, and applied linguistics.

Student Writing and Genre by Fiona English This book is about how genres affect the ways students understand and engage with their disciplines, offering a fresh approach to genre by using affordances as a key aspect in exploring the work of first year undergraduates who were given the task of reworking an essay by using a different genre. Working within a social semiotic frame of reference, it uses the notion of genre as a clear, articulated tool for discussing the relationship between knowledge and representation. It provides pedagogical solutions to contentions around 'genres', 'disciplines', 'academic discourses' and their relation to student learning, identity and power, showing that, given the opportunity to work with different genres, students develop new ways of understanding and engaging with their disciplines. Providing a strong argument for why a wider repertoire of genres is desirable at university, this study opens up new possibilities for student writing, learning and assessment. It will appeal to teachers, subject specialists, researchers and postgraduates interested in higher education studies, academic literacies, writing in the disciplines and applied linguistics.

Twenty-One Genres and How to Write Them by Brock Dethier  In this classroom-tested approach to writing, Brock Dethier teaches readers how to analyze and write twenty-one genres that students are likely to encounter in college and beyond. This practical, student-friendly, task-oriented text confidently guides writers through step-by-step processes, reducing the anxiety commonly associated with writing tasks. In the first section, Dethier efficiently presents each genre, providing models; a description of the genres' purpose, context, and discourse; and suggestions for writing activities or "moves" that writers can use to get words on the page and accomplish their writing tasks. The second section explains these moves, over two hundred of them, in chapters ranging from "Solve Your Process Problems" and "Discover" to "Revise" and "Present." Applicable to any writing task or genre, these moves help students overcome writing blocks and develop a piece of writing from the first glimmers of an idea to its presentation.  This approach to managing the complexity and challenge of writing in college strives to be useful, flexible, eclectic, and brief--a valuable resource for students learning to negotiate unfamiliar writing situations.