Resource Guide for Teaching Writing Intensive Courses: Writing in the Humanities
The purpose of this guide is to point you to some resources that may assist you in developing and teaching Writing Intensive courses. This guide includes general resources on writing pedagogy as well as resources appropriate for specific disciplines.
Teaching Writing in the Humanities
There are few resources available that focus on particular disciplines. Below are those I located that relate specifically to the humanities. Be sure to check the books listed on the Writing in the Disciplines page, many of them discuss specific disciplines:
-
After the Program Era
by
The publication in 2009 of Mark McGurl's The Program Era provoked a sea change in the study of postwar literature. Even though almost every English department in the United States housed some version of a creative writing program by the time of its publication, literary scholars had not previously considered that this institutional phenomenon was historically significant. McGurl's groundbreaking book effectively established that "the rise of the creative writing program stands as the most important event in postwar American literary history," forcing us to revise our understanding not only of the relationship between higher education and literary production, but also of the periodizing terminology we had previously used to structure our understanding of twentieth-century literature. After the Program Era explores the consequences and implications, as well as the lacunae and liabilities, of McGurl's foundational intervention. Glass focuses only on American fiction and the traditional MFA program, and this collection aims to expand and examine its insights in terms of other genres and sites. Postwar poetry, in particular, has until now been neglected as a product of the Program Era, even though it is, arguably, a "purer" example, since poets now depend almost entirely on the patronage of the university. Similarly, this collection looks beyond the traditional MFA writing program to explore the pre-history of writing programs in American universities, as well as alternatives to the traditionally structured program that have emerged along the way. Taken together, the essays in After the Program Era seek to answer and explore many of these questions and continue the conversations McGurl only began. CONTRIBUTORS Seth Abramson, Greg Barnhisel, Eric Bennett, Matthew Blackwell, Kelly Budruweit, Mike Chasar, Simon During, Donal Harris, Michael Hill, Benjamin Kirbach, Sean McCann, Mark McGurl, Marija Rieff, Juliana Spahr, Stephen Voyce, Stephanie Young
Call Number: PN181 .A38 2016ISBN: 9781609384395Publication Date: 2017-01-04 -
The Companion to Digital Humanities in Practice
by
The Companion to Digital Humanities in Practice offers international perspectives on how we teach and research in and with digital humanities today. Building on the foundation of earlier publications that focused on practice in the field, this Companion provides a significant treatment of pertinent issues and contexts, extending breadth and depth, as well as reach, in terms of geographical diversity of topics and contributors. Divided into four sections, each with a high-level practice-oriented focus, the volume covers data; tools and techniques; communication, dissemination, and engagement; and pedagogical practices. Contributors to the volume include both established and emerging scholars. Foregrounding and critically reviewing the emergence and development of standards-based communities of practice, the Companion provides an overview of core competencies; conceptualized case studies; and links to further reading, training materials, and exercises. The Companion to Digital Humanities in Practice will appeal to academics, researchers, and postgraduate students working in DH, literary studies, history, and the humanities more broadly. It should also be of interest to professionals working in DH and galleries, libraries, archives, and museums.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 1032333855Publication Date: 2025-10-13 -
Composition, Creative Writing and the Digital Humanities
by
In an era of blurred generic boundaries, multimedia storytelling, and open-source culture, creative writing scholars stand poised to consider the role that technology-and the creative writer's playful engagement with technology-has occupied in the evolution of its theory and practice. Composition, Creative Writing Studies and the Digital Humanities is the first book to bring these three fields together to open up new opportunities and directions for creative writing studies. Placing the rise of Creative Writing Studies alongside the rise of the digital humanities in Composition/Rhetoric, Adam Koehler shows that the use of new media and its attendant re-evaluation of fundamental assumptions in the field stands to guide Creative Writing Studies into a new era. Covering current developments in composition and the digital humanities, this book re-examines established assumptions about process, genre, authority/authorship and pedagogical practice in the creative writing classroom.
Call Number: PN187 .K64 2017ISBN: 9781472591944Publication Date: 2017-01-26 -
The Pocket Instructor: Literature
by
The first comprehensive collection of hands-on exercises that bring active learning to the literature classroom This is the first comprehensive collection of hands-on, active learning exercises for the college literature classroom, offering ideas and inspiration for new and veteran teachers alike. These 101 surefire lesson plans present creative and interactive activities to get all your students talking and learning, from the first class to final review. Whether you are teaching majors or nonmajors, genres or periods, canonical or noncanonical literature, medieval verse or the graphic novel, this volume provides practical and flexible exercises for creating memorable learning experiences. Help students learn more and retain that knowledge longer by teaching them how to question, debate, annotate, imitate, write, draw, map, stage, or perform. These user-friendly exercises feature clear and concise step-by-step instructions, and each exercise is followed by helpful teaching tips and descriptions of the exercise in action. All encourage collaborative learning and many are adaptable to different class sizes or course levels. A collection of successful approaches for teaching fiction, poetry, and drama and their historical, cultural, and literary contexts, this indispensable book showcases the tried and true alongside the fresh and innovative. 101 creative classroom exercises for teaching literature Exercises contributed by experienced teachers at a wide range of colleges and universities Step-by-step instructions and teaching tips for each exercise Extensive introduction on the benefits of bringing active learning to the literature classroom Cross-references for finding further exercises and to aid course planning Index of literary authors, works, and related topics
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781400873784Publication Date: 2015-11-03 -
Toward an Inclusive Creative Writing
by
The creative writing workshop has existed since the early part of the 20th century, but does it adequately serve the students who come to it today? While the workshop is often thought of as a form of student-centered pedagogy, it turns out that workshop conversations serve to marginalize a range of aesthetic orientations and the cultural histories to which they belong. Given the shifting demographics of higher education, it is time to re-evaluate the creative writing curriculum and move literary writing pedagogy toward a more inclusive, equitable model.Toward an Inclusive Creative Writing makes the argument that creative writing stands upon problematic assumptions about what counts as valid artistic production, and these implicit beliefs result in exclusionary pedagogical practices. To counter this tendency of creative writing, this book proposes a revised curriculum that rests upon 12 threshold concepts that can serve to transform the teaching of literary writing craft. The book also has a companion website www.criticalcreativewriting.org offering supplemental materials such as lesson plans and course materials.The ebook editions of this book are available open access under a CC BY-NC-ND 4.0 licence on bloomsburycollection.com. Open access was funded by Knowledge Unlatched.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781350023871Publication Date: 2017-10-05
