Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

International Students: Citations and Plagiarism

This is a guide to library resources for international students at Hofstra University.

Citation Guides

The following are some of the citation guides held at the Reference Desk in Axinn Library. You can ask a librarian at the Reference Desk to assist you.

Plagiarism Resources

Plagiarism and ESL Writers: An Overview

This is an excellent overview of issues facing ESL students and plagiarism from the OWL at Perdue Univeristy. You can access OWL's writing lab under the Citations& Style Guides link. Along with other resources it provides information on APA, MLA, and other citation formats.

For further assistance speak to a librarian at the Reference Desk or make an appointment with one of the librarians using the Contact A Specialist link from the Hofstra University Library homepage. Or   you may contact me using the information given in the column to the right.

Citation Creation & Management

OneSearch and Database Options for Citing

OneSearch will allow you to cite most items returned immediately (including articles and books) by clicking on the Cite link to the right of the display.

Most Ebsco databases have a citation option, and articles can usually be mailed to yourself from within the databases with a citation included.

Proquest database and JSTOR also have citation options.

You will need to search in the databases to find them. Sometimes citation functions are associated with mailing functions and sometimes they are stand-alone. Not all databases have these options.


Check with a librarian for further information and assistance on how to find and use them.

Chat with a Librarian

MLA Handbook Plus Database

Hofstra University

This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University