It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
International Students: Finding & Translating Foreign Language Materials
This is a guide to library resources for international students at Hofstra University.
Most articles are in the research databases are in .pdf format, identified by this icon: . See the document below for instructions on translating .pdf documents.
Major Newspaper Databases
You can translate any of the text you find in the databases to the language you prefer using Google Translate.
Go to http://translate.google.com
Select English as the language to translate from.
Select the language you prefer as the language to translate to.
Click the Translate button.
Nexis UniThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to full-text news, business and legal publications.
OneFile NewsThis link opens in a new windowA full-text newspaper resource providing access to more than 1,100 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
New York Times currentThis link opens in a new windowProvided by LexisNexis, full text coverage is from June 01, 1980 through current. (Abstracts from January 1, 1969 - May 31, 1980.) Also includes The New York Times on the Web online articles.
You may read a print copy of World Journal East (Shih Cheh Jih Pao) on the Ground floor of the Axinn Library. Ask at the Periodicals Desk if you require assistance locating this newspaper.
Finding Non-English Language Materials
Research Databases: The following databases offer language restrictions:
All EBSCOhost databases (identified by the blue, circular EBSCOhost logo) offer the ability to change the language of the search screen. Click on the Languages link at the top of the screen and choose the language you prefer.
All EBSCOhost databases also offer a language option on the Advanced Search screen which allows you to search for materials in a language other than English. Be sure to scroll down on the search screen to locate the Language menu. This option will search materials available exclusively in the language you prefer and display English-language materials that have been translated to your preferred language.
In EBSCOhost databaes, articles in HTML format can be translated from the item screen. When you see an article with this icon: , click on this link. You will see options for translating the article above the title of the article.
Most articles are in .pdf format, shown with the icon: . For instructions on translating .pdf documents, please see the box on the left side of this page.