Romance Languages & Literatures
Suggested Axinn Databases
These databases are available to Hofstra students and faculty both on and off campus through your Hofstra portal.
-
Academic Search Ultimate
Developed to meet the increasing demands of scholarly research, Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. Includes over 9,000 active full-text journals and magazines
-
ARTFL
North America's largest collection of digitized French resources, including classic works of French literature.
-
Dictionary of Literary BiographySystematically presents career biographies and criticism of writers from all eras and all genres through volumes dedicated to specific types of literature and time periods.
-
PASCAL AND FRANCISMore than 14 million bibliographic references from the Free Access to Pascal and Francis databases
-
Iter Bibliography (Middle Ages and Renaissance)Iter Bibliography is comprised of secondary source material pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400–1700). Citations for books and journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for dissertation abstracts and essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).
-
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and CriticismCompiled by 275 specialists from around the world, the Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements and is updated annually.
-
JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. It provides full-text searches of almost 2,000 journals. In addition, more than 3 million of the images in Artstor are now discoverable alongside JSTOR’s vast scholarly content, providing you with primary sources and vital critical and historical background on one platform.
-
MLA International BibliographyProvides scholarly access to 4,000 journals, also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies and other formats. Contains some full-text articles
-
Project MuseFull text. Access to over 300 journals in the Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences.
Open-Access Resources
-
Brazilian Historical NewspapersProvided by Yale University and its Latin American Collection.
-
Colecções digitalizadas - National Library of PortugalLarge collection of digitized books from Portugal and other European countries.
-
Jornal de PoesiaWebsite dedicated to poetry written in the Portuguese language.
-
Literatura DigitalA project from the Núcleo de Pesquisas em Informática, Literatura e Lingüística at the Universidade Federal de Santa Catarina in Brazil that aims to make literary texts and information from Brazil and Portugal freely available on the web. Containing over 500 digital texts, the database also provides bibliographic information for over 50,000 works by 14,000 authors.
-
Literatura PortuguesaSupport for the teaching and learning of Portuguese, dissemination of Portuguese language and culture.
-
Portuguese literature onlinePortuguese Literature Online is the first of the 'Babel Countries' websites, a part of Babel World Literature Projects which promotes world literature in English translation through publications (see babelguides.co.uk), websites, performances, book presentations and promotions and consultancy.
Reference Area Open-Access Terminals
Photo by Professor Annmarie Boyle
