LibGuides: Romance Languages & Literatures: Find Books and Videos

Circulating Book Stacks

Photo by Professor Annmarie Boyle

How to search for books in the Axinn Library

Our Online Catalog is available through the Axinn Library homepage. If you are looking for information about an author, use a Subject search; for work by an author, use an Author search. When you find the relevant call number area, you can browse in the stacks. Browsing is an excellent way to get a sense of what we own. Our books are organized by the Library of Congress classification system. Circulating books are located on floors 4 through 8. Books in the Romance Languages and Literatures area are held on the 7th Floor.

Classification Areas
French

PQ1-PQ3999

Italian

PQ4001-PQ5999

Spanish

PQ6001-PQ8999

Portuguese

PQ9000-PQ9999

"Oversize" books are located on the far right side of each floor.

See Link to Catalog Below

WMS Discovery This link opens in a new window online catalog of Hofstra library holdings.

Request Items Through Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan

Find Books

Google Books
According to Google, they have scanned 10 million books. Most of these books are no longer in print. One million are in the public domain.
Hathi Trust
HathiTrust comprises over 10 million volumes, over 2.7 million of which are public domain. HathiTrust provides a number of discovery and access services, notably, full-text search across the entire repository.
Books/eBooks
Click on Book/eBooks at the top of the Library homepage.on the left. Contains all the books, videos and films in the Library collection.
Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg offers over 38,000 free ebooks in about 70 different languages.
Proquest Dissertations and Theses
World's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window Catalog containing over 54 million records, representing the holdings of thousands of libraries. Items found in WorldCat that are not owned by Axinn Library may be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

Video Databases

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online delivers video titles spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) makes this database a useful resource for faculty and students alike.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming video database, providing multidisciplinary educational programs from Films Media Group.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary streaming video database, offering films from the Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation, and many more.

Romance Languages & Literatures: Find Books and Videos

Circulating Book Stacks

How to search for books in the Axinn Library

Request Items Through Interlibrary Loan

Find Books

Video Databases

Selected Videos