Skip to main content
Quick Start to Using ARTstor
This page will get you started on using our database ARTstor. ARTstor provides over 1.5 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.
Hofstra Image Databases
Associated Press Images Collection
contains over 4.6 million photographs dating back to 1826, tens of thousands of graphics, more than 4,500 hours of audio files dating from the 1920’s, and news stories and headlines dating from 1997. The content is primary source and is provided by The Associated Press.
Digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
Covers the period from 1841-1902. Good collection of historic photos and advertisements. Choose the Advanced Search tab and select "Pictures."
Choose the Image Search tab to find images in over two-hundred dictionaries and encyclopedias across disciplines.
Hofstra University Library Special Collections - Digital Photo Collection
Photo collection focused on Long Island and Hofstra. Large collection of photographs related to 9/11 memorials on Long Island.
Hofstra University Library Special Collections - Online Exhibits and Student Research Projects
Exhibitions draw their inspiration and content primarily from the historic records that document the history of Hofstra University, as well as, the local and regional history of Long Island. These collections include photographs, manuscripts, newspapers, maps, artifacts, books, census records, and audiovisual materials.
Oxford Art Online
Offers access and simultaneous cross-searching to an expanding range of Oxford’s acclaimed art reference works: Grove® Art Online, the Benezit® Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies available exclusively online.
This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University