Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Fine Arts, Design, Art History: Find Books and Videos

This guide will lead you to resources in the Fine Arts and Art History.

How to search for books in the Axinn Library

Our Online Catalog is available through the Axinn Library homepage. If you are looking for information about an artist, use a Subject search; for work by an artist, use an Author search. When you find the call number area, you can browse in the stacks. Browsing is an excellent way to get a sense of what we own.  Our books are organized by the Library of Congress classification system.  Circulating books are located on floors 4 through 8.

Visual Arts  -- Class N (Located on the 6th Floor)

NA: Architecture
NB: Sculpture
NC: Drawing, Design, Illustration
ND: Painting
NE: Print Media
NK: Decorative Arts, Ceramics
NX: Arts in General

Photography -- Class TR (Located on the 8th Floor)

Fashion -- Class GT500-2370 (Located on 5th Floor)

"Oversize" books are located on the far right side of each floor.

 

 

Find Books and Videos

Open Access Books

Many of these books may be found in the major sources of open access books.

DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books Scholarly books which are both "free to read" and "free to share". Excellent source of up-to-date scholarly works in a variety of fields and languages. This collection has now been added to ONESEARCH and the titles should be accessible there.

Open Book Publishers Source of scholarly books. May be downloaded and read for free.

UCL Press The UK's only publisher of open access scholarly books.

Google Books . At present only books out-of-copyright are fully open-access. 

HathiTrust Contains open-access book-length items. A catalog search, limited to Full View Only, brings up not only full-text materials, but also a set of conditions by which you can limit your search (e.g. subject heading, date range, author, language). It also aggregates full-text materials from various sources and displays bibliographical information that may be more useful than Google Books.

UFDC Baldwin Library of Historical Children's Literature

International Children's Digital Library Children's books in many languages.

National Academies Press Maintained by the National Academy of Sciences, the website contains reports (some book-length) on science, engineering, medicine and health policy. Not all items are free open-access but much is.

Folger Digital Texts Free digital texts from the Shakespeare Folger Library.

USTC (Universal Short Title Catalogue) Maintained by the University of St. Andrews (Scotland). This is an attempt at cataloging all books published in Europe between the invention of printing and the end of the sixteenth century. Click on Search the USTC button. On the next page modify the Digital Copies drop-down menu to say "Open Access". 

OAPEN: Open Access Publishing in European Networks Scholarly works in a variety of fields. European in origin. Mixture of "free to read" and "free to share".

Project Gutenberg Oldest provider of open-access books on the Internet. Gutenberg may block wireless IP addresses if they encounter too many from the same place. Students may be blocked if multiple students in the same course attempt to access the database. Students should retry by using attempting to access off campus, or with a mobile device, using computers in open access labs or the wired network in dorm rooms. HU Preferred may, however, be blocked.

NetGalley Digital versions of book galleys.

DigitalCultureBooks A joint imprint of the University of Michigan Press and the Scholarly Publishing Office of the University of Michigan Library.

Biodiversity Heritage Library A consortium of 12 natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access. Contains ethnology and ethnographic materials from the Smithsonian Institute.

University of Adelaide Press Ceased publishing open access books in 2018. Back catalog is still available online.

HAU Books Excellent source of modern ethnographic materials as well as some classics perhaps not found elsewhere.

Hofstra University

This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University