Government Information Guide
This guide will assist you in locating information from international, U.S. government, state, and local governments.
Titles in the Basic Collection
"These titles are vital sources of information that support the public's right to know about the workings and essential activities of the Federal Government." (FDLP https://www.fdlp.gov/requirements-guidance-2/collections-and-databases/basic-collection)
-
Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government Provided by the Government Printing Office, intent is to educate school-age children about the structure and function of the U.S. government.
-
Bicentennial Edition: Historical Statistics of the United States-Colonial Times to 1970-Part 1 Note that print edition is available in the Axinn Library reference room (Ref. HA202 .A385 2 vols. 1975)
-
Sam.gov (former Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance) Formerly known as Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA). See the Assistance Listings area for a compilation of federal domestic assistance programs.
-
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications Provided by the Government Printing Office. Finding tool for publications produced by the federal government.
-
Code of Federal Regulations Codification of the rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the federal government.
-
Congress.gov Official website for U.S. federal legislative information (provided by the Library of Congress).
-
Congressional Directory The official directory of the United States Congress that includes members of the Senate and House, committee members, room and telephone numbers, and officials of the courts.
-
Congressional Record Daily Official record of the proceedings and debates of the U.S. Congress.
-
Compilation of Presidential Documents Official publication of materials released by the White House press secretary. Contains both the Weekly and Daily compilations.
-
Data.Census.gov new platform for census data effective March 31, 2020 replacing American Factfinder
-
Economic Indicators Economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, producation, money, credit, finance, and international statistics.
-
GovInfo govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.