CQ Guide to the U.S. Supreme CourtThis link opens in a new windowIncludes detailed information about the Supreme Court, from its origins and how it functions, to the people who have shaped it and the impact of its decisions on American life. If you are not a member of the Hofstra Community, please contact the Depository Coordinator for assistance with government information.
CQ Supreme Court YearbookThis link opens in a new windowCoverage and analysis of every decision from the Supreme Court from 1989 to 2010. Includes year-end overviews, case summaries, essays on the most significant cases from each year and the trends in each term, tables and figures on voting patterns and trends in constitutional law, biographies of justices, and reference documents for understanding how the Supreme Court works. If you are not a member of the Hofstra Community, please contact the Depository Coordinator for assistance with government information.
HeinOnlineThis link opens in a new windowIncludes more than 100 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. Provides comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 1,800 law and law-related periodicals. Contains the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, famous world trials dating back to the early 1700′s, legal classics from the 16th to the 20th centuries, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register from inception in 1936, the CFR from inception in 1938, and much more.
Political Science DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowIncludes over 140 leading political science and international relations journals.
Worldwide Political Science AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowProvides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration & policy.
Government Websites
U.S. CourtsSite provides access to federal court system. Good site to learn the structure and functions of the court system.
United States Courts Opinions"United States Courts Opinions (USCOURTS) collection is a project between the U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) and the Administrative Office of the United States Courts (AOUSC) to provide public access to opinions from selected United States appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts. The content of this collection dates back to April 2004, though searchable electronic holdings for some courts may be incomplete for this earlier time period. Once an opinion is located, all associated opinions within the same case can be accessed from the opinion." 2004-present
U.S. Laws and Regulations
United States Code"The United States Code is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is divided by broad subjects into 53 titles and published by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives."
United States Statutes at Large"he United States Statutes at Large, typically referred to as the Statutes at Large, is the permanent collection of all laws and resolutions enacted during each session of Congress."
Federal Register"Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) , the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
Code of Federal Regulations"The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. The 50 subject matter titles contain one or more individual volumes, which are updated once each calendar year, on a staggered basis.
eCFR"The Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (eCFR) is a web version of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) that we update daily to better reflect its current status. The eCFR is an editorial compilation of CFR material and amendments published in the daily Federal Register........While we try to ensure that the material on the eCFR is accurate, those relying on it for legal research should verify their results against the most current official edition of the CFR, the daily Federal Register, and the List of CFR Sections Affected (LSA), available online at www.federalregister.gov and www.govinfo.gov. For complete information about, and access to, our official publications and services, go to the OFR’s website on www.archives.gov."
