Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Anthropology Resources: Islam

Introduction

Many of the resources listed under General Resources, especially databases, will be useful to students and faculty working in the area of Islamic Studies. This page lists some of the resources available specifically in that area.

Open-Access Materials

Amir Access to Mideast and Islamic Resources. A variety of open-access materials.

archnet archet is an online resource on architecture, urbanization, art, and culture in the Islamic world. It contains a variety of resources, including open access syllabi.It was developed by M.I.T.

Directory of Free Arab Journals In Arabic. Covers the Middle East, North Africa and parts of Sub-Saharan Africa.

Sacred Texts Maintained by the University of Calgary. Search under specific religion.

Reference

Ref  DS37 .E517 1993 Encyclopedia of Islam. E. J. Brill’s First Encyclopedia of Islam, 1913-1936.

Reprint. Originally published 1913-1938.

Ref  DS37 .E523   The Encyclopedia of Islam. Brill, 1960-1993.

The two Brill Encyclopedias of Islam are older, but classic, treatments of the subject. They also contain supplements, indexes, and other material with various call numbers held in the same area.

Ref BP133. E53 2001 Encyclopaedia of the Qur’ān. Brill, 2001-2006.      

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
David Woolwine
Contact:
902C Axinn Library, Hofstra University, Hempstead, NY 11549-1230

david.woolwine@hofstra.edu
Hofstra University

This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University