Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Anthropology Resources: Websites of Interest to Anthropologists

Archaeology Open Access Resources

Explaining Human Culture Open Access database produced by the Yale Human Relations File. Information on cross-cultural studies, topical studies, reports on statistical findings.  A good classroom tool.

Introducing Cross-Cultural Research  An open access "course" on the basic concepts and approaches in doing anthropological cross-cultural studies. May be useful in teaching anthropology courses.

Archaeology Data Service  Accredited respository for heritage data in the United Kingdom. Library of Unpublished Fieldwork Reports

tDAR The Digital Archeological Record, housing data about archeological investigations, research and other resources.

Open Context Description is that it "reviews, edits, annotates, publishes and archives research data and digital documentation".

Digital Archeological Archive of Comparative Slavery A collection of archeological sites in the eastern United States.Useful for classroom teaching and for student projects.

A Review and Roadmap of Online Learning Platforms...in Digital Archeology Reviews The Open Digital Archeology Textbook MERCURY-SIMREC, and The Programming Historian.

Websites -- Open Access Materials (See Open Access Libguide for More Resources)

Anthrobase AnthroBase is a multilingual, searchable database of articles, theses, essays, reports, conference papers, field-notes etc., written by anthropologists and others. There is open-access material available on this website. Search function appears not to work. One can browse.

National Anthropological Archives and Human Studies Film Archives Guide to the collections. Includes the Smithsonian Guide to the Human Studies Film Archives, Guide to Anthropological Fieldnotes and Manuscripts in Archival Repositories, and Bureau of American Ethnography Publications. On the whole this does not contain full-text material. 

Archaeology Channel Variety of resources in archeology. The video collection is especially useful.

Digital Antiquity A non-profit organization devoted to the preservation and enhancement of archaeological data and records.

Our Mother Tongues Contains information about Native American languages. Includes recordings of the spoken languages.

National Indian Law Library Maintained by the Native American Rights Fund this site provides a central access to works on laws relating to Native Americans.

Internet Archive The Open Content Alliance archives material on the Internet Archive. This includes many older ethnographic accounts and may be useful to anthropology students..

Bishop Museum Publications Bishop Museum is the Hawaii State Museum of Natural and Cultural History. Many of its reports are freely available and deal with the ethnography of Hawaii and other Pacific areas. Click on the home link to Bishop Museum to find other resources.

FAMSI - Foundation for the Advancement of Mesoamerican Studies, Inc. An immense collection of primary and other resources on Mesoamerican culture.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
David Woolwine
Contact:
902C Axinn Library, Hofstra University, Hempstead, NY 11549-1230

david.woolwine@hofstra.edu
Hofstra University

This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University