This libguide will provide you with the information you need to download ebooks: https://libguides.hofstra.edu/ebooks .
An Introduction to Marriage and Family Therapy by
Learn the fundamentals of family therapy and treatment! An Introduction to Marriage and Family Therapy presents insight and analysis from 20 of the foremost experts in the theoretical and practice areas of family therapy, offering a unique blend of approaches and styles. Chapters draw on each author's area of expertise in exploring the history of family therapy and the application of systems theory to families. Ideal as a comprehensive resource for entry-level students, the book also gives undergraduates a glimpse of graduate training and provides useful tips on how to apply to graduate school and what to expect while shopping for graduate education. An Introduction to Marriage and Family Therapy is divided into two parts: a theoretical section, where commonly used theories are presented with practical case examples, and a section devoted to special issues and topics, such as couples therapy, communication training, marital enrichment and premarital counseling. The book also covers substance abuse, divorce, gender and culture, family violence, sexual dysfunctions and sex therapy treatment, and the interface of ethics and the legal system. An Introduction to Marriage and Family Therapy also discusses: the history of family therapy systems theory and cybernetics structural and strategic family therapy cognitive-behavioral, experiential, and transgenerational therapies collaborative language-based models current research findings and much more! With its unique and comprehensive approach, An Introduction to Marriage and Family Therapy serves as a theoretical introduction to the field of marriage and therapy and related mental health disciplines where family treatment is emphasized. The book is essential for educators in marriage and family counseling classes and is an invaluable resource for therapists, counselors, social work professionals, pastoral educators, and family psychologists.
Marriage and Family Therapy by
There are many different models of marriage and family therapy; the challenge for students and beginning practitioners is deciding which one best suits their individual purposes. This highly practical volume elucidates the defining characteristics of 14 contemporary models, including their history, views of change, views of family and the role of the therapist; and methods of assessing family dynamics, goal setting; facilitating change; and knowing when to terminate. Each chapter also includes a template for implementing therapy models, and realistic case studies-many drawn from actual practice-to illustrate how each model would address common issues. In addition, the volume includes extensive interviews with master therapists such as Albert Ellis, Insoo Kim Berg, Sue Johnson, Susan McDaniel, Derald Wing Sue, and many others. They share their ideas of the ways in which change occurs, how they set goals, and how they perform therapy. For further clarification, each therapist illustrates how he/she would proceed via the same case study. Learning how to perform effective family therapy can be an arduous process of trial and error, yet this resource will ease the way for students and currently practicing family therapists who need to revisit the basics. Modalities Included Bowen Family Systems Theory Contextual Family Therapy Cognitive Behavioral Family Therapy Models Rational Emotive Behavior Therapy Symbolic-Experiential Family Therapy Satir Human Validation Process Model Milan Systemic Family Therapy Structural Family Therapy Strategic Family Therapy Solution-Focused Brief Therapy with Families Narrative Therapy with Families Emotionally Focused Therapy Medical Family Therapy Family Psychoeducation Key Features: Introduces the theory, history, theoretical assumptions, techniques, and components of each modelIncludes a template for using each model, from the initial meeting through assessment, intervention, and terminationProvides numerous interviews with master therapistsIncludes case study commentary and analysis by master therapistsSuggests questions, therapeutic strategies, and/or comments to consider for each therapeutic phaseIncludes a personality inventory to help readers select the most effective modality
DSM-5 and Family Systems by
"Two of my mantras in training systemic clinicians are: 'Systemic counselors and Marriage and Family Therapists should be the best diagnosticians of all the mental health disciplines but we do not always have to take that diagnosis into the therapy room to our clients.' and... 'Use the language of your audience.' The cognitive and vocal dissonance between the systemic understanding of human relational behaviors and the traditional medical model of viewing these same symptoms of pathology has long been a topic of academic debate and clinical coffeehouse arguments. This work is the first major text to attempt to create a two way bridge of introducing traditional users of the DSMs to systemic perspectives while informing systemic thinkers of the utilization of the traditional language for better outcomes for all of our clients/patients. Though no work can be exhaustive, this text uses the language of the DSM-5, explores systemic influences, and provides a case examples of the major divisions of the manual. I recommend this text in hopes that the bridge will continue to be used as our body of knowledge continues to grow." --Mike Bishop, PhD., LMFT-S, LPC-S; Associate Professor, Texas Wesleyan University; Former President, Texas Association for Marriage and Family Therapy "This outstanding textbook addresses the needs of systemic oriented clinicians who work with couples and families to identify and assess disorders described in the fifth edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. It provides a much needed resource emphasizing the development of interventions from systemic frameworks. The book is characterized by chapters organized in a consistent manner that has great appeal to practitioners in a variety of settings: diagnosis and criteria, relational and cultural features, family systems assessments, family systems interventions, ethical/legal considerations, and case conceptualizations. I find the entire text to be timely and relevant but one of my favorite aspects of the book is the way each chapter concludes with a case study that applies the information to the work of a systemically oriented." clinician."--David Capuzzi, Ph.D, LPC, NCC; A Past President; American Counseling Association The first text to present DSM-5 diagnoses within a relational perspective, DSM-5 and Family Systems delivers timely content aimed at training marriage and family therapists, clinical mental health counselors, and other systems-oriented practitioners. It reflects how the DSM-5 examines, for the first time, its diagnostic categories from the perspective of cultural and environmental impact on the development of individual disorders and conditions. This comprehensive text provides students with an understanding of how to approach a diagnosis as it relates to assessments, treatment planning, and ethical implications from a family and relational systems perspective. With contributions from distinguished faculty at counseling and marriage and family therapy training programs, each chapter includes an overview of the DSM in family systems contexts, cultural aspects, family systems assessments and interventions, and ethical and legal implications. Abundant case vignettes aid students in conceptualizing diagnoses in each DSM-5 category. Key Features: Considers all categories of DSM-5 diagnoses from a family and relational systems perspective--the first book to do soIncludes family systems contexts, assessments, interventions, cultural considerations, and ethical and legal implicationsProvides sample case vignettes for conceptualization of each DSM-5 categoryWritten and edited by esteemed educators in counseling and marriage and family therapyDesigned for courses in diagnosis, assessment, and psychopathology
Integrative Couple and Family Therapies by
"This book demonstrates how integrative clinical practices provide a flexible, systematic, and responsive approach to working with couples and families with complex challenges. Couples and families experience stressors of all kinds, such as infertility, blending families, infidelity, military trauma, incarceration, and sexual abuse. Complicating these already-difficult issues may be added social scrutiny due to racism, undocumented immigration, or LGBTQ status. Likewise, new technologies such as social media and data tracking, while having many positive uses, can also intensify problematic patterns. Couples and families entering treatment need a tailored clinical approach, which integrative therapies offer. Contributors to this edited book summarize current scientific knowledge about the complex clinical problems that bring couples and families to treatment, and discuss integrative couple and family therapy models. Eleven detailed case conceptualizations illustrate how practitioners and therapists use integrative models to provide care for couples and families. This roadmap of integrative treatments is for trainees as well as currently practicing psychologists, social workers, counselors, and marriage and family therapists."--"This edited book demonstrates how integrative clinical practices provide a flexible, systematic, and responsive approach to working with couples and families with complex challenges. It summarizes current scientific knowledge about the problems that bring couples and families to treatment: infertility, blending families, infidelity, military trauma, incarceration, and sexual abuse, among others. Eleven detailed case conceptualizations illustrate how practitioners and therapists use integrative models to provide care for diverse couples and families"--
Understanding Adolescents for Helping Professionals by
"Promotes an in-depth understanding of adolescent development that can be immediately applied to effective treatment" Adolescence is a distinct and complex stage of development, and successful interventions with this population require an in-depth understanding of the many forces affecting them. This is a practical, thorough, yet concise survey of adolescent development for early career professionals in psychology, mental health counseling, social work, marriage and family therapy, education, and nursing. Based on in-depth theoretical and empirical understanding of adolescent physical, cognitive, social, and emotional development, the text demonstrates how this knowledge can be applied immediately to treating adolescents in any setting. The only book of its kind, it is a welcome alternative to purely clinical books due to its strategic focus on understanding normal adolescent development and appreciating the crucial difference between adolescent developmental issues versus clinical issues. Comprehending this important difference is an integral aspect of successful interventions with adolescents. The book provides an overview of historical perspectives, major theories and research, and current best practices in the profession. It addresses topics in adolescent development, with a particular emphasis on how physical, cognitive, and socio-emotional development interact in an integrative process. Particularly helpful features include a section in each chapter, "Adolescent Development in the Real World," which highlights interviews with professionals who, in their daily work, apply the concepts discussed in the text. The "In Their own Words" feature provides interviews with adolescents from various gender and ethnic groups, providing first-person accounts of how specific issues are manifested in life. Other hallmarks of this text include easy-to-understand language, discussion-oriented critical thinking tasks, and suggestions for further reading. Readers will come away with a deep theoretical and empirical understanding of adolescent development, as well as how to apply and implement these concepts in any adolescent or adolescent-related mental health setting. Key Features: Presents concise yet in-depth coverage of adolescent development with a focus on applying this knowledge in practice Facilitates a deep theoretical and empirical understanding of the key concepts in physical, cognitive, and socio-emotional adolescent development Emphasizes the interaction of physical, cognitive, and socio-emotional development Includes interviews with mental health professionals who demonstrate how they apply the book's concepts in their work with adolescents Provides first person accounts from adolescents from different cultural, ethnic, and sexual orientations
Restoration Therapy by
How can a therapist help his or her clients and ensure that they continue to maintain the insights and motivations learned during therapy in everyday life, beyond termination? Restoration Therapy is a professional resource that introduces the reader to the essential elements of its namesake, and from there guides clinicians to a systemic understanding of how certain forces lead to destructive cycles in relationships, which perpetuate more and more dysfunction among members. Clients and therapists both will understand issues more clearly, experience the impacts that emotion can have on insight, and practice the process so more loving and trustworthy relationships can take hold in the intergenerational family.
Couple, Marriage, and Family Therapy Supervision by
Marriage and family therapy (MFT) is a profession that is expected to grow rapidly over the next 10 years. This timely text provides the essentialknowledge base for all facets of supervision in MFT that are required to become an AAMFT-Approved Supervisor. The book focuses specifically on thedistinctive model of supervision used in MFT and further examines the unique supervisory issues arising within different approaches to the profession.Distinguished by its use of a single case example across chapters to help clarify how different theories diverge and overlap, the book embraces the fullrange of theoretical approaches, in addition to featuring a ' nuts-and-bolts' approach to the day-to-day fundamentals of MFT supervision. Grounded in the most up-to-date literature, the text discusses methods and issues of MFT supervision within multigenerational, structural, cognitivebehavioral, narrative, feminist, integrative, brief, and other supervision models. The text also surveys the most important and emerging settings andpopulations in which marriage and family therapists work, including medical and postdisaster trauma-informed practices. It covers legal and ethical issuesand discusses how culture, gender, and ethnicity must be considered during the supervision process. The text also addresses how to tailor supervision tothe supervisee' s developmental level. Examples of common supervision dilemmas vividly demonstrate foundational principles. With contributions from leadingmarriage and family therapy educators and experienced supervisors, the text is designed for therapists at both the master' s and doctoral levels who seekthe Approved Supervisor Credential and for MFT faculty who teach the AAMFT supervision course. KEY FEATURES: Meets the learning requirements for AAMFT-mandated courses leading to certification as an approved supervisor Covers the fundamentals of supervision in the systemic context that lie at the heart of marriage and family therapy Covers supervision in the major approaches to MFT, including cognitive behavioral, brief, narrative, structural, and other orientations Provides an illustrative case study across all supervision models to demonstrate the uniqueness and similarities of each approach Includes coverage of important populations and settings for MFT, such as medical and postdisaster
Legal Guidelines for Family Therapists by 
Careers in Mental Health by
Accessible and unbiased, Careers in Mental Health introduces upper-level high school students and beginning undergraduates to the different aspects of various mental health professions. Contains essential career advice for anyone considering an advanced degree in one of the "helping" professions within mental health Covers clinical psychology, counseling psychology, social work, counseling, marriage and family therapy, substance abuse counseling, and school psychology Clarifies the distinctions between professions by discussing the history and philosophy of each field, requirements for advanced education, licensing, available jobs, salary potential, and more Includes a section with practical information applicable to all the professions, such as characteristics for success, ethical issues, the importance of critical thinking, applying to graduate school, and current issues affecting the field of mental health
This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University