This section lists selected eBook collections offered via Hofstra Library subscriptions and purchases.
Download instructions for these choice collections can be accessed from the left column menu.
ACLS Humanities E-BookThis link opens in a new windowaccess to 4,300 cross-searchable, full-text titles across the humanities and related social sciences. Titles have been selected and peer reviewed by ACLS constituent learned societies. The collection includes both in- and out-of-print titles ranging from the 1880s through the present.
ACM Digital LibraryThis link opens in a new windowa comprehensive collection of full-text articles from over 50 Association for Computing Machinery publications dating back to the 1950s. The ACM Guide also provides access to more than 1.8 million bibliographic sources and citations from computing books, journals, proceedings and theses beyond ACM's proprietary literature.
APA eBooksThis link opens in a new windowfull text of American Psychological Association books.
Business Expert PressThis link opens in a new windowconcise ebooks covering specific areas of business, including supply & operations management, international business, social media, finance, accounting, public relations, and marketing strategy.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)This link opens in a new windowContains more than 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement.
Titles licensed by the Hofstra University Library are identified with Subscribed content (S) icon.
Literature CriticismThis link opens in a new windowIncludes 10 Gale literature series, which in all comprise tens of thousands of hard-to-find essays. Contemporary Literary Criticism profiles influential writers via excerpted passages from selected criticism. Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism
presents the major literary figures and nonfiction writers of 1900 to 1999. Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism presents overviews of four to eight authors of 1800 through 1899. Shakespeare Criticism includes general and specific critical interpretations from the 17th century to the present. Literature Criticism 1400-1800
includes resource on the greatest writers of the late Middle Ages, the Renaissance and the Restoration eras. Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism provides critical opinion on early literature, Poetry Criticism is a collection of biographical sketches, author portraits, primary bibliographies and much more. Short Story Criticism profiles short story writers of yesterday and today. Drama Criticism
features critical opinions, biographical sketches and chronological lists of plays and playwrights. Children’s Literature Review provides critical reviews of the works of the most popular and influential authors of the genre.
Loeb Classic LibraryThis link opens in a new windowGreek and Latin texts alongside English translations.
LWW Health LibraryThis link opens in a new windowPremium basic sciences ebooks for medical and health curriculum. Courtesy of the Health Sciences Library of the School of Medicine.
Magill on Literature PlusThis link opens in a new windowIncludes all the literary works, reviewed critical analyses and brief plot summaries that are included in MagillOnLiterature, as well as all the biographies and author essays included in MagillOnAuthors.
OECD Economic SurveysThis link opens in a new windowthe Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development's periodic reviews of member and non-member economies.
Proquest Ebook CentralThis link opens in a new windowauthoritative ebooks in a range of subjects from the world's top publishers.
ScienceDirect eBook CollectionThis link opens in a new windowcovering the science, technology, and health sciences disciplines. Though this collection contains more eBooks than those HUL licenses, this link will take you to our subscribed and open access title list.
Additional License Terms