Annual ReviewsThis link opens in a new windowComprehensive collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 40 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences, including Economics.
Cabells DirectoriesThis link opens in a new windowAssists authors in publishing journal articles. The index in each Directory helps match the characteristics of a manuscript to journals' topic areas and lists acceptance rates. Also includes information on the style and format of most journals to further assist in organizing and preparing manuscripts.
Cambridge Journals OnlineThis link opens in a new windowOver 300 peer-reviewed academic journals for the global market, containing the latest research from a broad sweep of subject areas.
CINAHL CompleteThis link opens in a new windowprovides full text for more than 1,300 journals in nursing & allied health, including many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo.
Cochrane LibraryThis link opens in a new windowA collection of six databases that contain different types of independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database, NHS Economic Evaluation Database. Also includes a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration.
Counseling and Therapy in VideoThis link opens in a new windowAn online collection of videos for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
Dissertations & Theses A&IThis link opens in a new windowDissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day.
Education Full TextThis link opens in a new windowProvides full text of articles from as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of periodicals dating back to 1983. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more.
Google ScholarThis link opens in a new windowSearch across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Links to full text provided by Hofstra will appear to those who have been authenticated through the Library's website.
Linguistics and Language Behavior AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
MedlineThis link opens in a new windowProvides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in PrintThis link opens in a new windowProvides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Mental Measurements Yearbook contains information for a complete evaluation of test products within such areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language.
DiscoveryThis link opens in a new windowSearches many of HUL's print and online resources (books, ebooks, journal articles, etc.) using Discovery.
PILOTSThis link opens in a new windowBibliographic database covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress. Incluldes citations to literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events.
Professional Development CollectionThis link opens in a new windowA collection of over 500 education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.
Includes the following two databases (direct links and descriptions under "see note" below):
Criminal Justice Database (1981 - current)
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database (1975 - current)
Links for individual databases included in this collection:
Criminal Justice Database (1981 - current): International and scholarly journals, correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, crime blogs and other material supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
Social Science DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journalsacross a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.
Sociology DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowInternational literature in sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more.
PsycARTICLESThis link opens in a new windowContains full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology, from the American Psychological Association (APA). Includes journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present.
PsycINFOThis link opens in a new windowAbstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health. Journal coverage from the 1800s to the present.
Sage Journals OnlineThis link opens in a new windowFull text of journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine.
ScienceDirectThis link opens in a new windowFull-text scientific database. Includes journal articles and book chapters. Contains Philosophy of Science.
Springer JournalsThis link opens in a new windowDatabase of journals in the areas of behavioral science, biomedical & life sciences, business & economics, chemistry & materials science, computer sciences, earth & environmental science, engineering, humanities, social sciences, law, mathematics & statistics, clinical medicine, physics and astronomy. Includes full text.