There is almost always a solution to finding full text of an article. Follow the steps listed below to find full text.
If an article is available full text in a database there will be an either an "HTML" or 'PDF" or "Linked Full Text" icon. Either of these will give you full text of the article. The difference is that the PDF is the version of the article as it appears in the journal originally (including the graphics)
When you find an abstract (summary of an article) in a database and there are none of the above icons, click on "Check Journal Finder".
If we have the Journal in another database "Journal Finder" will take you to the list of choices of where the journal can be found. Click on either "article" for direct access to the article or "journal" or the name of the database to get to the search page of the database.
If we do not have the Journal click on the link for Interlibrary loan, where we can get the article for you.
Tips for success when using databases
Using EBSCO databases
EBSCO is a vendor of many of our databases. While we don't suggest you limit your search, especially when working on your dissertation, to just EBSCO databases there are some nice features of these databases that may help you do your research.
First all databases sold by EBSCO are searchable simultaneously. So if you log onto any databases provided by them such as ERIC or Academic Search Complete you may also search other EBSCO databases such as the Professional Development Collection or PsychArticles. To do this type of searching click on "Choose Databases"
To find peer-reviewed articles only there is a box you can check to limit your search. You may want to use this feature sparingly when doing your literature review for a dissertation.
To save any articles/citations that you may have found but aren't ready to print out you can create an EBSCO account by clicking on "My EBSCO". This account will also allow you to save your searches (thus your search strategy)
Counseling and Therapy in VideoThis link opens in a new windowAn online collection of videos for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
Dissertations & Theses A&IThis link opens in a new windowDissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day.
Education Full TextThis link opens in a new windowProvides full text of articles from as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of periodicals dating back to 1983. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more.
ERICThis link opens in a new windowThe Education Resource Information Center contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
Google ScholarThis link opens in a new windowSearch across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Links to full text provided by Hofstra will appear to those who have been authenticated through the Library's website.
Jstor is a digital archive of over one thousand five hundred academic journals and other scholarly content. Hofstra subscribes to several JSTOR collections and single titles.
Hofstra subscribes to JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I through VII, as well as the Life Sciences Collection and JSTOR 19th Century British Pamphlets
Nexis UniThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to full-text news, business and legal publications.
Literature Resource CenterThis link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide information on authors, their works, and literary movements.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in PrintThis link opens in a new windowProvides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Mental Measurements Yearbook contains information for a complete evaluation of test products within such areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language.
New York Times currentThis link opens in a new windowProvided by LexisNexis, full text coverage is from June 01, 1980 through current. (Abstracts from January 1, 1969 - May 31, 1980.) Also includes The New York Times on the Web online articles.
DiscoveryThis link opens in a new windowSearches many of HUL's print and online resources (books, ebooks, journal articles, etc.) using Discovery.
Professional Development CollectionThis link opens in a new windowA collection of over 500 education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.
Includes the following databases (direct links and descriptions under "see note" below):
Links for individual databases included in this collection:
Education Database: Coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education.
ERIC: Education and related topics - journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs
PsycARTICLESThis link opens in a new windowContains full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology, from the American Psychological Association (APA). Includes journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present.
PsycINFOThis link opens in a new windowAbstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health. Journal coverage from the 1800s to the present.
Sage Journals OnlineThis link opens in a new windowFull text of journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine.
ScienceDirectThis link opens in a new windowFull-text scientific database. Includes journal articles and book chapters. Contains Philosophy of Science.
Social Services AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowProvides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Includes journal articles, dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
SPORTDiscusThis link opens in a new windowBibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. Contains records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800, as well as dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages.
Teacher Reference CenterThis link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for 280 teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.