Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Literacy Studies: Websites for Teachers

Educator Websites

These sites represent some of the major ones in the field of education. As such, they frequently represent all levels of education and are, in addition intended for a widely varying audience.

The Educator's Reference Desk

This site is huge and covers many different aspects of education including general education, counseling, technology, etc. Created by people at the Information Institute of Syracuse, it is designed to replace the former AskEric. It includes links to lesson plans, resource guides and other online sources of information. In addition, it has an archive of over 200 questions and responses of a variety of educational topics that were originally sent to AskERIC.
http://www.eduref.org

ERIC - Education Resources Information Center

This is the web site for what is considered "the world's premier database of journal and non-journal education literature." It is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the United States Department of Education and was, originally, created in 1966. ERIC has gone through a number of changes in recent years including the creation of more full text access to journal articles and ERIC documents. Please be aware that unlike the ERIC site listed under research databases this direct government link does not connect to Journal Finder and, therefore, will not indicate if the Hofstra Libraries own the journal or if the journal article can be accessed through a different database.
http://www.eric.ed.gov

National Library of Education

The National Library of Education (NLE) is the largest federally funded library devoted entirely to education. The emphasis is on theory, policy and research and the general collection consists of over 60,000 books, more than 800 English language journals in the field of education, the complete ERIC microfiche collection and archives of print and electronic documents published by the U.S. Department of Education. This site provides links to a variety of programs, reports, government publications, etc. One can visit the library in person or obtain information by phone, fax, mail and through its web site.
http://www.ed.gov/NLE/index.html .

United States Department of Education Web Site

This web site defines its mission as one "to ensure equal access to education and to promote educational excellence throughout the nation." As such, it reaches out to students, teachers, administrators and parents and provides full text access to major educational and statistical reports released by the Department of Education. For anyone seeking more information on "No Child Left Behind" this may a good starting point. The site also offers information on funding opportunities, student financial assistance, news and events, program and services, publications and services, links to other sites, and job opportunities within the Department.
http://www.ed.gov

Word Wide Education Virtual Library

Put out by Charles Sturt University in Australia, this site is international in scope and covers all levels of education. Links are arranged by level of education, type of resources, type of site and country. It also includes related virtual libraries and newsgroups.
http://www.csu.edu.au/education/library.html

Subject Guide

Hofstra University

This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University