LibGuides: Literacy Studies: Literary Criticism and Reviews

Where to find Criticism, Book Reviews and Literary Biographies

Literature Resource Center
Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.

Book Review Index
A comprehensive online guide to book reviews with over five million review citations from thousands of publications. 1965 - present.

Dictionary of Literary Biography

Twayne's Author Series
In-depth coverage of more than 600 world authors.

Who's Who
Features comprehensive biographical profiles on nearly 1.3 million of the most accomplished individuals from all fields of endeavor including: government, business, science and technology, the arts, entertainment, and sports.

World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
Provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced between 1971 and early 2002. The scope is international, with coverage extending to more than 92 languages and representing every country in North America, South America, and Europe, and nearly every country in Asia, Africa, and Australasia. The more than 78,326 records in this version cite several hundred thousand additional reviews of books, productions, films, and audio recordings.

WorldCat

MLA Bibliography
Available within Literature Resource Center, the MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association, consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore and includes coverage from 1963 to the present. The MLA International Bibliography provides access to scholarly research in nearly 4,000 journals and series. It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.

New York Review of Books
Book reviews.

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism

LitFinder
LitFinder is international in scope, covers all time periods, and contains a wealth of primary literature content, including more than 126,500 full-text poems, 850,000 poem citations and excerpts, 5,000 full-text short stories, 2,800 full-text essays, 1,800 full-text speeches, and 1,000 full-text plays. LitFinder also includes biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary.

MagillOnLiterature Plus
Combining MagillOnLiterature and MagillOnAuthors, this database provides access to information on fiction writers, poets, dramatists, philosophers, etc. It also includes critical analyses and brief plot summaries of the most studied works in the history of literature. The information in this database equals the complete contents of 31 sets of reference books, including Masterplots, Cyclopedia of World Authors, Cyclopedia of Literary Characters, and 10 years of Magills Literary Annuals.

Subject Guide

Annmarie Boyle

Email Me

Contact:

Axinn Library

516.463.6529

Subjects: Accounting, Taxation, and Business Law, Communication Studies, Counseling, Research, Special Education, and Rehabilitation, Education/CMC, Engineering/Computer Science, Film/Media Collections, Finance, Foundations, Leadership and Policy Studies, General/Multi-Subject, Google Scholar, Health Sciences/Medicine, International Students, Library/Information Science, Marketing and International Business, Middle Eastern Studies, Open Access, Speech Communication and Rhetorical Studies, Speech-Language-Hearing