Circulation and Document Delivery
Interlibrary Loan Reference Librarian
Head of Resource and Collection Services
Hofstra's Interlibrary Loan unit works with a network of institutions to borrow and loan materials that support scholarly research for faculty, staff, and students. Interlibrary Loan (ILL) obtains articles, book chapters, and other documents from resources not owned or otherwise unavailable from Hofstra. Requested articles and other PDF materials are delivered electronically through our interlibrary loan system ILLiad. ILL also borrows books, dissertations, government documents, microforms and other physical materials not owned by Hofstra or otherwise unavailable from our collection. Once received, these items are made available at the Axinn Library circulation desk to check out.
We will explore and utilize alternative avenues of access to remote resources (full-text databases, commercial document delivery sources, purchase, etc.). Obtaining materials often involves requesting them from other institutions world-wide. As part of this larger interlibrary loan community, the ILL unit lends requested items from our collection to other institutions.
As a general rule, there is no charge to the patron for the Interlibrary Loan service; Hofstra University Library covers any necessary fees. Occasionally we may encounter a request that exceeds our budget; in this case we will communicate with you to facilitate access.
Document Delivery provides articles, book chapters, and other documents that are owned by Hofstra, scanned and delivered to you via email. The Electronic Article Delivery service is available to all Hofstra faculty, staff, and students. Additionally, Hofstra faculty can request book delivery to on-campus offices.There is no charge for this service.
Hofstra University Library is a member of the Information Delivery Service (IDS) Project, a mutually supportive resource-sharing cooperative within New York State. Hofstra University Library is also a member of Eastern Academic Scholars Trust (EAST), a collaborative effort of a large group of academic and research libraries to document, protect, and provide long-term access to their print collections.
This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University