Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Philosophy Resources: Home Page and Open-Access Resources

Related Libguides

Purpose of Guide

This guide is a short introduction to print and electronic resources in philosophy. It contains information about resources available at Hofstra University as well as some links and information for resources on the Internet.

 

Open Access and Other Internet Resources

PhilPapers

A directory of online articles and books in philosophy. It is maintained by David Chalmers and other philosophers. Not all material is peer-reviewed but it can be an excellent means of finding recently published works in philosophy. Philosophy of mind and of consciousness is well covered.

Cogprints

Archive of preprints and publications in psychology, neuroscience, linguistics, computer science, philosophy of mind other areas of philosophy and biology.

PhilSci Archive 

Preprints in the Philosophy of Science.

David.Hume.org

Maintained by faculty at Hertford College, Oxford University, the site contains open-access texts of Hume's works and some scholarly papes. It is searchable by keyword.

American Society for Aesthetics

Open-access articles and book reviews are available at this site.

 

World Philosophy Day

World Philosophy Day is sponsored by UNESCO. It falls on the third Thursday in November.

Finding Books and Journal Articles

The Discovery link is available from the Library webpage. You may search all items, or only book, articles or journals. You can also click on the database link and search within specific databases.

The basic search is by keyword. Advanced searching is possible once a basic search has been done.

A keyword search will look for a word or phrase anywhere in the record of an item. It is a broad search with can produce relevant item. It also frequently produces a large number of irrelevant items. Within each item record are “official” subjects and facets. The subjects are Library of Congress subject headings. It is suggested that you begin with a keyword search, or several keyword searches using synonyms, and examine the Library of Congress subjects within the records. When you find Library of Congress subjects which appear to be more or less on your topic you may click them on or type the subject into the subject box on the search page. (It is easier to click on the subject, especially if it is a lengthy one since subjects must be typed in exactly as they appear in the subject box.) Subject searches tend to produce fewer items which are more relevant.

You may need to do several searches with keywords and subjects to find all the items you need.

Author searches are good if you know the author’s name. 

Title searches are good if you know the title. Leave off words like “The”, and “An” at the beginning of titles when using this sort of search.

University students may use the Law Library and take out circulating books there. You will need to show your Hofstra ID card to get into the Law Library.

The Medical Library is  highly restricted. You should phone or email the librarians at the Medical Library to see if you can gain access before visiting it.  

Useful Textbook on Library Research

Library 160: Introduction to College Level Research

This is an open access textbook on how to do research using library resources. It is produced and published  in 2021 by scholars at Iowa State University. 

Librarian

Profile Photo
David Woolwine
Contact:
902C Axinn Library, Hofstra University, Hempstead, NY 11549-1230

david.woolwine@hofstra.edu

Chat with a Librarian

Make a Research Appointment

Librarians are available for one-on-one research consultations. 

You can make an appointment to meet with a Librarian by phone or e-mail.

Click the link below to scroll through a list of research subjects and locate the librarian who specializes in your research area.

Hofstra University

This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University