Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open-Access Resources

Finding Other OER Resources

Sometimes full textbooks can be found in these resources. But also lesson plans or elements which one can use in putting together a course. In some cases content here is picked up by the major search engines above.

MERLOT II

OpenStax/OER Commons

OpenOregon Over 600 open access classroom resources in many disciplines, from syllabi, to free readings, to textbooks.

Open Education Consortium

MIT Open Courseware

UCI Open Open course materials from UC Irvine.

Saylor Academy Course Catalog

Finding OERs on Google

H20 Classroom Tools  This is a repository which allows sharing and modification (in some cases) of course materials. Those which are linked to Harvard University's licensed databases may need to modified here for use (i.e. linked to our databases). Consult a librarian for assistance. This was created by Harvard University and was originally intended for Law but now encourages use by faculty in other disciplines. It is a product of Harvard Library Lab

SkillsCommons  Materials (including syllabi) for courses in industry (e.g. mining, agriculture, construction) but also items on finance and insurance, educational services, health and social assistance, hospitals, entertainment, recreation, public administration, etc.

 

 

Introducation

This page contains general information on open-access, such as ethical standards and information on major initiatives.

Criteria for Trustworthy Journals

Open Access Journal Quality Indicators This is a list developed by Grand Valley State University Libraries. It is a great place to start if you are considering using articles from an open access journal or publishing in one.

Think, Check, Submit  A quick and simple list of criteria which will help with determining if a journal is predatory.

This is a similar site for conferences. Think Check Attend.

Retraction Watch Reports on retracted articles and other controversial issues in the sciences.

DOAJ Best Practice Guide Evolving collection of journals, metrics, etc. on best practices largely for open access journals. Some of the components are presented separately here.

 

 

Other Sites of Interest

Other sources for discussions on open-access.

ALPSPINASP, ISSN, LIBER, OASPA, STM, UKSG

DOAJ Best Pracitices Guide Good summary of tools, organizations, etc. for OER and Open Access.

Open Access Directory Maintained by the School of Library and Information Science at Simmons College and overseen by an editorial board. List of resources on open access in science and scholarship.

Ethical Issues and Blogs

SPARC: the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition An international alliance of academic and research libraries created around the issues of open-acess.

Committee on Publication Ethics Created in 1997, COPE provides editors and others with information and guidelines on publication ethics.

Open and Shut? Blog maintained by Richard Poynder, a long-time observer of the open-access movement.

PubPeer Meant to encourage post-publication discussion of science articles, in a sense a type of post-peer review, the site tends to focus on problematic articles.

 

Initiatives

Budapest Open Access Initiative Contains the new 2012 guidelines. The initial initiative grew out of a meeting in 2001 in Budapest of the Open Society Foundations.

NIH Public Access Policy Details of the National Institute of Health Public Access Policy

Delhi Declaration on Open Access Issued by Open Access India.

EIFL (Electronic Information for Libraries) Non-profit organization working on greater access to knowledge in developing and transitioning countries.

PKP: Public Knowledge Project This project, the result of collaboration between a number of universities, offers research findings and software, to assist in the publication of open-access journals. The list of journals using the software does not mean that the journals' content is of high quality or that they follow ethical standards in publication. Some of the links on the list of publications are now broken or misdirecting.

 Open Education Consortium A non-profit global consortium of open access institutions and organizations.

Librarian

David Woolwine's picture
David Woolwine
Contact:
902C Axinn Library, Hofstra University, Hempstead, NY 11549-1230

david.woolwine@hofstra.edu

Chat with a Librarian

Make a Research Appointment

Librarians are available for one-on-one research consultations. 

You can make an appointment to meet with a Librarian by phone or e-mail.

Click the link below to scroll through a list of research subjects and locate the librarian who specializes in your research area.



This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University