Linguistics: Finding Articles

A database containing digital versions of a wide variety of both popular magazines and academic journals, including many focusing on linguistics and language-related issues.

Contains a number of journals devoted to the study of language-related issues, including the International Journal of Applied Linguistics (one year delay on full text), Applied Linguistics Review, IRAL--International Review of Applied Linguistics in Language Teaching and
Cognitive Linguistics.

Contains bibliographic citations to over 1,000 education and education-related journals, including many with articles on linguistics and language-related issues. It also offers access to the full text of many journal articles, as well as to articles and reports which have not been published in journals. If you find an article you want and there is no direct link to it from this database, use the Journals search on the Hofstra Library home page to see if we have it either in digital or print form. If we do not, request it from Interlibrary Loan

Contains many language and literature journals, although the emphasis is on literature rather than linguistics, for the most part. It offers the contents of the journal Language from 1925 up until the last 6 years and the contents of Linguistic Inquiry from 1970 up until the last 6 years (Project Muse includes the most current issues of Linguistic Inquiry). Also included is Anthropological Linguistics (from 1959 until two years ago)   Articles in JSTOR are generally at least 3-5 years old.

Contains bibliographic citations and abstracts for articles related to public and social issues, including many that discuss economic topics. If you find an article you want, use use the Journals search on the Hofstra Library home page to see if we have it either in digital or print form. If we do not, request it from Interlibrary Loan

Bibliographic index for language and literature. If you find an article you want and there is no direct link to it from this database, use  Find Article to see if we have it either in digital or print form. If we do not, request it from Interlibrary Loan

Contains full text for a number of important linguistics journals, including Language from March 2001 and Linguistic Inquiry from the Fall 2000 up until the present.

Contains articles focusing on issues related to linguistics and language behavior. All articles are full text and come from peer-reviewed psychology journals.

Contains articles related linguistics and language-related topics, including those from  Discourse, Context and Media, the Journal of Phonetics and the Journal of Pragmatics. If you find an article you want and there is no direct link to it from this database, useuse the Journals search on the Hofstra Library home page to see if we have it either in digital or print form. If we do not, request it from Interlibrary Loan