Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Comparative Literature: Reference Works

A Subject Guide

Reference Works

Reference works for comparative literature are available either in print or online 

Print (check the library catalog for more)

Glossary

A Glossary of Literary Terms
By M.H. Abrams and Geoffrey Galt Harpham.
Boston : Wadsworth, c2009
Location: Axinn Reference Room
Call Number: PN41.A184 2009

The Longman dictionary of literary terms : vocabulary for the informed reader
By X.J. Kennedy, Dana Gioia, Mark Bauerlein
New York : Pearson/Longman, 2006
Location: Axinn Reference Room
Call Number: PN44.5 .K46 2006

Guides to Literatures

Columbia Dictionary of Modern European Literature, 2nd edition
Edited by Jean-Albert Bédé and William B. Edgerton
New York : Columbia University Press, 1980
Location: Axinn Reference Room
Call Number: PN41.C6 1980

The Oxford Companion to German literature, 3rd ed.
by Mary Garland
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1997
Location: Axinn Reference Room
Call Number: PT41.G3.1997

Encyclopedia of German literature
Edited by Matthias Konzett
Chicago : Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 2000
Location: Axinn Reference Room
Call Number: PG2940.H29 1985

Handbook of Russian Literature
Edited by Victor Terras
New Haven : Yale University Press, c1985
Location: Axinn Reference Room
Call Number:: PG2940.H29 1985

Reference Guide to Russian Literature
Neil Cornwell ; associate editor, Nicole Christian
London ; Chicago : Fitzroy Dearborn, c1998
Location: Axinn Reference Room
Call Number:: PG2940 .R44 1998

A Guide to Eastern Literatures
Edited by David M. Lang
New York: Praeger, [1971]
Location: Axinn Reference Room
Call Number: PJ307.L3

Encyclopedia of Arabic literature
Edited by Julie Scott Meisami and Paul Starkey
London ; New York : Routledge, 1998
Location: Axinn Reference Room
Call Number: PL2264.I52 1986 (2 volumes
)

Encyclopedia of African Literature
Edited by Simon Gikandi
BLondon ; New York : Routledge, 2003
Location: Axinn Reference Room

The Indiana Companion to Traditional Chinese Literature
Edited by William H. Nienhauser, Jr., Charles Hartman (poetry) Y.W. Ma (fiction), and Stephen H. West, (drama)
Bloomington : Indiana University Press, c1986-c1998
Location: Axinn Stacks (sixth floor)
Call Number: PL8010 .E63 2003

Online

The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
More than 240 alphabetically arranged entries on literary critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, as well as the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.

The Literature Resource Center
Includes full text articles, book reviews and biographical essays focusing on literature and literary authors, including many for languages other than English. Some English translations of foreign language texts are also included.

Dictionary of Literary Biography
Biographical and critical essays on literary authors from around the world.

Basic Library Information

Contact Information

Alan Bailin, M.L.S, Ph.D.
Professor
Library Services
902c Axinn Library
516-463-5973

Alan.Bailin@hofstra.edu

Use the contact information above to arrange an appointment. Click on the button below for a scheduled time slot.

Hofstra University

This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University