Finding Free Literary Resources: Resources for Specific Authors A - F

These manuscripts represent every stage of the writing career of Jane Austen, from childhood through her death at the age of 41. They include working drafts, handwritten facsimiles and publications intended only for circulation among family and friends.

Provides a plethora of information related to Jane Austin and her work. The site includes links to peer-reviewed journals, events, and additional resources related to the author.

A digitized archive of Emily Dickinson's surviving work. Contains links to resources to learn more about the poet.

Read the original FBI documents kept on James Baldwin.

An interactive website created to celebrate the author's centennial. The site provides links to some of his articles and other writings, an overview of important places in Baldwin's life, and exhibits focused on the author.

Learn about the digitized material from the "James Baldwin Early Manuscripts and Papers" collection held within from Yale’s Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library. Click the "View all Images" button to be directed to the materials.

Catalogues Alexandre Dumas' bibliography and includes a variety photos and details about his life. For additional links and resources, click the Liens tab.
A note, while the majority of this website is written in French, much of it can be translated while using Chrome.

A digital collection of correspondence written and received by the poets, Elizabeth Barrett Browning and Robert Browning. The letters provide insight into the lives, works and thoughts of both poets.

An extensive resource to learn more about James Fenimore Cooper. Includes a wide range of articles on his life and work. The site also provides links on where to read the author's writings online.

The website provides information on Olaudah Equiano's life and scholarly research examining his work and legacy. The site also includes detailed historical context about the slave trade and the abolition movement in Britain.