Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Writing Studies & Composition WSC002 - Prof. Teller: Locating Articles

Basic Library Information

Check the easy-to-use interactive  Library Basics Tutorial to find out what we have, where to find it, how to access it, and what services we offer you.

NEED HELP?

During the course of the COVID-19 pandemic, the library will provide online reference services. Access reference services as follows:

  • Use the popout chat window that appears on the Library's homepage during the hours that reference services are available.
  • At any time, you may type a question to be answered by a librarian.  Click on the  question graphic on the top righthand corner of the Library's homepage  
  • Make a personal one-on-one research appointment with a librarian.
  • Or use the buttons below to quickly type us a question or chat with a librarian

Research Databases

Multidisciplinary

Academic Search Complete 

Academic OneFile

Both Academic Search Complete and Academic OneFile cover a wide range of topics. Both contain both scholarly and non-scholarly articles and both include a large amount of full text articles.

JSTOR:

All scholarly articles--in addition to some books that are downloadable chapter by chapter--and all full text. Note: Does not contain the most recent issues of a journal (between two and five years prior to the current year).

Humanities & Social Sciences

Don't forget that the multidisciplinary databases listed above can be good sources of information in other disciplines as well. These databases also contain resources in the social sciences.

Oxford Academic Journals:

Contains journal articles in a variety of subjects, including the humanities and social sciences,

Project Muse

Contains the full text of scholarly journal articles in both the humanities and social sciences.

Sage Journals Online

Full text of scholarly journal articles published by the Sage Publishing company.

Social Sciences

PscycINFO: Articles on a variety of issues  related to psychology. Limit you search to journal articles to avoid books and dissertations.

Proquest Social Science

Includes articles on a wide variety of topics in the social sciences.

ScienceDirect

Despite what is implied by the name, ScienceDirect also contains scholarly articles 

Sociological Abstracts

Journal articles in sociology and related disciplines. Also provides citations to books and dissertations. You will want to restrict your search results to journals articles.

See also Sage Journals and Oxford Academic Journals mentioned above.

Natural Sciences

See Sage Journals, Science Direct, and PsycINFO.

Health Center Academic: health and medical information from allied medical fields.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic: scholarly, full text articles focusing on medical disciplines.

 

 

Contact Information

Ann Grafstein, M.L.S, Ph.D.
Professor of Library Services
902H Axinn Library
516-463-5052

ann.grafstein@hofstra.edu

Contact me by phone or email. Click on the button below to arrange an appointment during a scheduled time slot.

Hofstra University

This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University