LibGuides: History 14F: What's Your History: Find Articles

Find Articles

Articles
To search for specific journal articles, click on the Articles link at the upper-left-hand corner of the Library Homepage. In Advanced Search, you may search by author, title, keyword, or journal name.

Suggested Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window Developed to meet the increasing demands of scholarly research, Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. Includes over 9,000 active full-text journals and magazines
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910.
Brooklyn Eagle This link opens in a new window Digitized version of The Brooklyn Daily Eagle, which was originally published from 1841 to 1955, then revived for a short time from 1960 to 1963.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, indexing more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
Newsday Historical This link opens in a new window Coverage from 1940 to 1994.
Newsday Recent This link opens in a new window Coverage: 2010 - recent (3-month embargo).
New York Times current This link opens in a new window Provided by LexisNexis, full text coverage is from June 01, 1980 through current. (Abstracts from January 1, 1969 - May 31, 1980.) Also includes The New York Times on the Web online articles.
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window Coverage of the New York Times from 1851 through 4 years prior to the current year.
Times (London) Digitial Archive This link opens in a new window Digital archive of the London Times, from 1785 to 1985.

Scholarly and Popular Resources

As you go along with your studies at Hofstra, you will find that often your professors will ask you for scholarly or peer-reviewed articles. Scholarly resources provide the following::

information that has been vetted by scholarly experts in the field.
scholarly analysis, description or evaluation of events and ideas
contain an abstract and always list bibliographical references
primary sources of information about the views of a scholarly community.

Popular resources have these attributes:

Articles written by non-specialists in the field.
Articles are reviewed by an editor, but not by a panel of experts.
Articles may or may not mention sources in the text.

Below you will find links to databases that will lead you to both scholarly and popular articles. You will also see a link entitled "Find the Full Text." This link will direct you to Journal Finder. In cases where you do not find the full text of an article, Journal Finder will tell you if you can find this material in another database that we own, or in print, or it may tell you that we don't own this particular journal or newspaper. In the case where we don't own the item you are looking for, use the InterLibrary Loan link to order it from another library.