History 14F: What's Your History: Genealogical Online Resources

An educational project of The Battery Conservancy. This free site offers access to an extraordinary database of information on 11 million immigrants from 1820 through 1892, the year Ellis Island opened. More than 100 million Americans can trace their ancestors to this early immigration period

Vast database of 51 million+ passenger records of immigrants who passed through Ellis Island between 1892 and 1924.

Probably the largest, freely-available resource for genealogical information. Includes census enumeration forms, indexes, catalogs, family trees, tutorials, an in-depth encyclopedia of genealogy, and more.

This genealogical source provides important information such as birth and death records, marriage records, and Social Security Index. It is a subscription but offers a month free trial.

Presented on this website are individual "State Guides" designed to show you where all the best marriage record archives and databases are found. It is a subscription but you may open a free account for two weeks.

The 1940 census records were released by the US National Archives April 2, 2012, and brought online through a partnership with Archives.com. This website allows you full access to the 1940 census images, in addition to 1940 census maps and descriptions.

The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever.

This page will be particularly useful for background information coming directly from your ethnic area. It contains a wide variety of websites containing valuable historical files.

The Municipal Archives maintains records of births reported in the five Boroughs of New York City (Manhattan, Brooklyn, Bronx, Queens and Staten Island), prior to 1910; deaths reported prior to 1949; and marriages reported prior to 1950. For a complete description of the vital records collection, please see a list of the Municipal Archives Holdings. Vital record copies are $15.00 each; see complete fee schedule.

The Social Security Administration Death Master File contains information on millions of deceased individuals with United States social security numbers whose deaths were reported to the Social Security Administration.

With over 4.8 billion records, Archives is your complete solution for tracing your family tree as far back as possible: This site is free for 14 days.