LibGuides: Great Fashion Designers: Find Images

Open-Access Image Databases

ARTstor
Digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.

You can create an account in ARTstor to track the images you want. The account also allows you to download high resolution images.

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text, indexes and abstracts from hundreds of art periodicals and peer reviewed journals and thousands of art dissertations. Indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
Associated Press Images Collection This link opens in a new window
One of the world's largest collections of historical and contemporary photography. Comprehensive archive with millions of images in entertainment, sports, news, archival and creative content.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Jstor is a digital archive of over one thousand five hundred academic journals and other scholarly content.
Note: Hofstra subscribes to several JSTOR collections and single titles. In JSTOR, Hofstra subscribes to Arts & Sciences Collections I through VII, as well as the Life Sciences Collection and JSTOR 19th Century British Pamphlets

Quick Start to Using ARTstor
This page will get you started on using our database ARTstor. ARTstor provides over 1.5 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.

Email Me

Contact:

Axinn Library
Room 902M
margaret.g.burke@hofstra.edu

516-463-6448

Subjects: Drama and Dance, Fine Arts/Art History, Music, Romance Languages and Literatures, Women's Studies