Television: Reference Tools

You must log into the my.hofstra.edu portal and access the Library home page in order to use these databases.

Biography Reference Bank - Includes biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, obituaries.  Mostly full text. Includes graphics.

Credo Reference - Multidisciplinary. Full text entries from over 500 reference sources. (Use this database to access current volume of Who's Who in America.)

ebrary - Database of electronic books.  Includes handbooks, dictionaries, histories, etc.

Gale Virtual Reference Library - Searchable by keyword and subject.  Contains the biographical dictionary of people working in the entertainment industry, Contemporary theatre, film, and television, from 1984 to date. Full text. Includes graphics.

Oxford English Dictionary - Literary. Full text of the Oxford English Dictionary.

This is just a sampling of the types of materials available in the print reference collection.

World Radio TV Handbook
Axinn – Ref. TK6540 .W67  2011

Television series and specials scripts, 1946-1992
Axinn – Ref. PN1992.8.S4 T57 2009

The producer's masterguide
Axinn – Ref. PN1993.5.U77 B46  2007/08

Film and television : a guide to the reference literature
Axinn – Ref. PN1994 .E27 2006

The queer encyclopedia of film & television
Axinn – Ref. PN1590.G39 Q44 2005

Critical dictionary of film and television theory
Axinn – Ref. PN1993.45 .C75 2001

Encyclopedia of television news
Axinn – Ref. PN4888.T4 E53 1999

Museum of Broadcast Communications encyclopedia of television
Axinn – Ref. PN1992.I8 M874 1997

Location guide for Hofstra University Libraries: http://library.hofstra.edu/screens/locations.html

Located on the main floor of the Axinn Library, the Reference Reading Room is where all print reference materials are shelved.  The area offers quiet study space and WIFI access.