LibGuides: Television: THE TELEVISION INDUSTRY

Databases

SRDS (Standard Rate and Data Service) This link opens in a new window Database of media rates and information. Cataloging more than 100,000 U.S. and international media properties. Includes detailed ad rates, dates and contact data, and direct links to media kits and audit statements.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Provides access to full-text news, business and legal publications.

Academic One File

Business: Insights This link opens in a new window Includes business, company, and industry periodical articles, news articles, and press releases. Provides detailed information for domestic and international companies and associations, including information on corporate hierarchical structures, company financials and earning estimates, investment reports, corporate chronologies and company histories, brands and product information, industry and company rankings, market share data, industry overviews, HR Law Case Digests, and PDF reports on the Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities and Threats (SWOT) for select companies.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window Provides full text, going as far back as 1886, for over two thousand journals, including more than one thousand peer-reviewed titles, in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window Incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. Includes indexes, abstracts and full text.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window Full text of journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine.

School of Communication Databases

Psychographics

PRIZM - Market Segmentation Research by zip code from Nielsen
At the top of the page, to the right of the Home link, click on the ZIP Code Look-up link.
Market Segmentation from Nielsen
At the top of the page, to the right of the Home link, click on the ZIP Code Look-up link.
Newspaper Association of America - Data about print and digital media and consumer behavior
PEW Research on Social Trends
PEW Research on the Media
United States Census
United States Census - Quick Facts Demographic Search

Psychographics & Market Segmentation defined

APA Manuscript Style

APA Formatted Manuscript - Example

Citation Style & Management

Purdue Online Writing Lab - APA Guide

Television Industry Research

If you consult nothing else, be sure to read TV Basics' Industry Overview - http://www.tvb.org/Public/Research/TVBasics.aspx

Ad Age - Content Strategy Studio - Invaluable reports on trends and practices
Nielsen - INSIGHTS
In the search box at the top right, type in Where You Live and you will access reports on local trends in media consumption.
Nielsen - Media Industry Statistics - Quarterly Report
Nielsen - Screen Wars: The Battle for Eye Space in a TV-Everywhere World
Nielsen DMA Rankings, Most Current Available
These reports provide Nielsen DMA rank and penetration estimates for TV Households and Ethnic Households in all 210 markets. Includes African-American, Asia-American, and Hispanic Households
Nielsen - Total Audience Report, Most Current Available
Television Basics - Top Syndicated Programs, Most Current Available

Finding TV Schedules & Nielsen Television Ratings

To see what shows were aired on your stations during a particular time period, visit TVByTheNumbers.com to view listings: http://tvschedule.zap2it.com/tvlistings/ZCGrid.do?aid=tvschedule. You can set preferences and time zones, etc., by exploring the search options.

TVByTheNumbers - Ratings Charts: http://tvbythenumbers.zap2it.com/

Click on TV Ratings menu and select daily or weekly ratings listings. Click on the headlines for each day or week to access the ratings charts in the body of the articles.

Variety.com - reports most recent Nielsen ratings in article format, i.e., not tabulated.
Available at: http://variety.com/v/tv/ratings/

Nielsen Top Ten lists - offers list in various media; typically 2-3 weeks old.
Available at: http://www.nielsen.com/us/en/top10s.html

Historic Nielsen Ratings from Daily Variety

Use the Academic One File database linked in the box on the left to access the most current Nielsen Ratings for prime time television shows as reported in Daily Variety. Follow these steps:

Choose the Advanced Search option.
Use the first pull-down menu to select Publication Title.
Type Daily Variety in the first textbox.
Leave the second pull-down menu set to Keyword.
Type in the phrase, Nielsen primetime ratings report.
Click the Search button.

This should retrieve all reports November 16, 2000 - March 19, 2013.