LibGuides: Sociology Resources: General Resources in Sociology

Electronic Reference Resources

Print Reference Resources

General Sociology Encyclopedias
Note that the online encyclopedias tend to be more recently published and up-to-date.

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Ref HM425 .B53 2007 This is an important encyclopedia in sociology. It has not been updated in print since 2007.

Encyclopedia of Social Theory Ref HM425 .E47 2005 This is a classic title but not up-dated. There may be a licensed (not owned) electronic copy. Use the catalog to search. The Wiley Blackwell Companion (listed above) is more recent and up-to-date.

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences. Ref H41 .I58 2001 A classic encyclopedia. Not entirely up-to-date.

Palgrave International Handbook of Peace Studies: A Cultural Perspective Ref JZ5538 .P358 2011

Electronic Databases

Sociology Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes the following two databases (direct links and descriptions under "see note" below):
- Sociological Abstracts
- Sociology Database
- Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts
  (ASSIA)
Links for individual databases included in this collection:
- Sociological Abstracts‎ (1952 - current):indexes international scholarly literature in sociology and includes companion file Social Services Abstracts
- Sociology Database‎ (1985 - current): Sociology and social work - journal articles
- Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts
  (ASSIA)‎ (1987 - current): Health services, social work, sociology and psychology - journal articles
Education Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes the following databases (direct links and descriptions under "see note" below):
- Education Database
- ERIC
Links for individual databases included in this collection:
- Education Database: Coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education.
- ERIC: Education and related topics - journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Abstracts and indexes international literature in sociology and related disciplines. Use Journal Finder link within database to determine if Hofstra University holds copies of the articles. The premier index for sociological literature.
Sociology Database This link opens in a new window Full text articles on sociology and related fields.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new window Some full-text. Scholarly and non-scholarly.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window Abstracts and indexes international literature in social services and related areas. Use Journal Finder link within database to determine if Hofstra University holds copies of the articles.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window Full-text.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window More than 520 journals published by Sage in a range of disciplines. It holds unique sociological content.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences This link opens in a new window Use Journal Finder within the database to determine if Hofstra University holds copies of the articles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This is an archival database. It usually contains the first year of scholarly peer-reviewed journals up to a “moving wall” ranging from 3 to 5 years of the present date.
Hofstra subscribes to JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I through VII, as well as the Life Sciences Collection and JSTOR 19th Century British Pamphlets
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window Annual Reviews are collections of essays presenting the major themes and topics in a field for a particular year. You may limit your search to a specific discipline (e.g. sociology).
CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window CQ Researcher Plus Archive contains position papers on up-to-date social issues. These are not peer-reviewed but contain useful information, occasional statistics, and bibliographies which often direct the user to advocacy websites.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window Legal history, Congressional Record, law and law-related journals, legal classics, etc. Contains Women and the Law database.
Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window Tables selected from hundreds of US government and business reports, from 1999 to the present.
Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window Includes a selection of historic African American newspapers.