Sociology Resources: Women in Development
Related Guide
African Studies The African Studies libguide may be useful. It contains a list of open access items many of which originate in Africa.
Introduction
This section contains information on useful resources for the sociology course, Women in Development.
Websites
We Can End Poverty: Millennium Development Goals and Beyond 2015
United Nations Development Programme: Human Development Reports
Go to main link to United Nations Human Development Reports. The interface for this website changes periodically. There are also several ways to “enter” the website to get to the same place. The Indices and Data link at the top may be most useful. There is a direct link to the Gender Inequality Index on the side. An index is made up of components and clicking on this link will immediately present a chart showing the components of this index. Scrolling down also gives links to FAQs about the Gender Inequality Index.
The Link to the “2011 Report Table 4 Gender Inequality Index and related indicators” gives the Index for countries for the year 2011. The Excel sheet labeled “Gender Inequality Index (GII) Trends (1995-2011)” gives the Index over the years specified broken down by country. This allows you to see trends.
The link to Interactive Data Tools leads to several options. You can pick the Countries option which will give you the GII for individual countries. Public Date Explorer also allows you to create graphs for the GII and other measures.
United Nations Statistics Division: Demographic and Social Statistics
WomanWatch: United Nations Inter-Agency Network on Women and Gender Equality
Resources for the Sociology of Women in Development
Reference
This is a selective list of specialized encyclopedias and other reference items which cover women in development. You can use the online catalog or consult a reference librarian to find if Hofstra University Library holds other resources in an specific area of interest to you.
Historical Dictionary of Women in Sub-Saharan Africa.Ref HQ1787 .S44 2016
- HAPI (Hispanic American Periodical Index) This link opens in a new window Hispanic American Periodicals Index contains over 275,000 journal citations about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. Not exclusively sociological in content.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new window Site containing full-text for a number of the American Anthropological Association’s most important peer reviewed journals plus other publications of the AAA. A good place for anthropology students to begin looking for major journal articles in the discipline.
- CountryWatch This link opens in a new window Current news and political, economic, cultural and business information for 192 countries.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new window Includes PAIS International & PAIS Archive. PAIS International includes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more from over 120 countries throughout the world. In English and other languages
- Women and Social Movements International This link opens in a new window A collection of primary sources that traces the global history of women’s international agendas and their influence on the course of events and shifts in attitudes that have come to define modern life.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window Can be configured to search for items, particularly newspapers, in any country.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar Given the dominance of the Global North in scholarship, which is reflected in the standard databases, this may be a useful tool for locating materials and items from the developing world. It may be especially useful in finding reports and policy statements from non-profits and governments.
Subject Guide
david.woolwine@hofstra.edu
This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2024 Hofstra University