Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Religion Resources: Black Religious Experience in the United States

Related Guides

African Studies

Primary Sources

The Revolution Will Not Be Televised. Information on the Black Church and the Civil Rights Movement can be found here.

Electronic Reference

Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 

With over 700 entries the encyclopedia documents the full range of African American experience for the period covered.

Encyclopedia of African American Experience, 1896 to the Present 

With over 1,200 entries the encyclopedia covers African American history from the period of segregation to the present day.

Encyclopedia of African American Popular Culture 

Writers, poets, publications, organizations, music and other components of African American popular culture.

Encyclopedia of Caribbean Religions 

Encompasses of all religious traditions in the Caribbean.

Sage Encyclopedia of African American Cultural Heritage in North American 

Provides an accessible ready reference on the retention and continuity of African culture within the United States.

Selected Books

Librarian

Profile Photo
David Woolwine
Contact:
902C Axinn Library, Hofstra University, Hempstead, NY 11549-1230

david.woolwine@hofstra.edu
Hofstra University

This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University