Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Religion Resources: Buddhism, Daoism and Chinese Philosophy

Introduction

Many of the resources listed under General Resources, especially the databases ATLA and Bibliography of Asian Studies which are also listed below, will be useful to students and faculty working in this area. This page lists some additional resources.

Most of the primary religious texts of the various traditions can be found in the circulating collection of Axinn Library. Use the Library Catalog to locate them. If the text is not in the library you might also try HathiTrust which is a reliable open-access online database. Please set the restrictions to full-text when searching this database.

Useful Subscription Databases

Encyclopedia Articles

Both the Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy and the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy are peer-reviewed sources and are freely available on the Internet. I have listed only some of the relevant articles below.  Search in these encyclopedias for additional articles.

Buddha

Madhyamaka Buddhism

Japanese Zen Buddhist Philosophy

Daoist Philosophy  

Daoism

Confucius

Reference

Ref BQ130. P75 2014 The Princeton Dictionary of Buddhism. Princeton University, 2014.

Ref BQ7404. W55 2009  Mahayana Buddhism: The Doctrinal Foundations. Routledge, 2009.

Ref BQ128. E617 2007  Encyclopedia of Buddhism. Routledge, 2007.

Ref BQ128. E63 2004 Encyclopedia of Buddhism. Macmillan Reference, 2004.

Ref BL1923. E63 2007 The Encyclopedia of Taoism. Routledge, 2008.

Ref BL1005 .L4813 1988 The Encyclopedia of Eastern Philosophy and Religion: Buddhism, Hinduism, Taoism, Zen. Shambhala, 1988.

Ref BL1840 .R68 2003 RoutledgeCuzon Encyclopedia of Confucianism. RoutledgeCuzon, 2003.

Credo Reference, listed below, is a subscription database of encyclopedias. The content changes so it is impossible to list specific works. However students might want to do key word searches in Credo to see what reference items are there.


Webpages of Interest

Chinese Philosophical Etext Archive Maintained by Wesleyan University. Texts are in Chinese. Confucian texts may be found here.

BuddhaNet Maintained by the Buddha Dharma Educational Association, Inc. in Australia. States that it is non-sectarian and appears to make a effort to be so. A sizable collection of resources.

Buddhist Digital Resource Center Located in Cambridge, MA. Dedicated to the preservation of Buddhist texts from all traditions. The Center began with a concentration on Tibetan texts.

Sacred Texts Maintained by the University of Calgary. Search under specific religion.

Cologne Digital Sanskrit Dictionaries

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
David Woolwine
Contact:
902C Axinn Library, Hofstra University, Hempstead, NY 11549-1230

david.woolwine@hofstra.edu
Hofstra University

This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University