Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Religion Resources: General Reference Resources

General Print Reference

These are examples of the types of encyclopedias on religion held in Axinn Library. Check specific tabs on the Libguide for other encyclopedias both in print and in electronic format. Many of these are older and might best be used as historical sources. More recent information on the topics can be found in academic books and articles.

Ref  BP605.N48 M46 1990  New Age Encyclopedia : A Guide to the Beliefs, Concepts, Terms, People, and Organizations that Make Up the New Global Movement Toward Spiritual Development, Health and Healing, Higher Consciousness, and Related Subjects.    Gale Research c.1990.

Ref BQ128 .E62 2004 Encyclopedia of Buddhism. Macmilian, c2004.

Ref BL1005 .L4813 1988 The Encyclopedia of Eastern Philosophy and Religion: Buddhism, Hinduism ,Taoism, Zen. Shambhala, 1988.

Ref  B121 .C66 2000 Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy. Routledge, 2000.

Ref BL2462.5 .E53 2001 The Encyclopedia of African and African-American Religions. Routledge, 2001.             

Ref BL65.H64 H63 2007 Homosexuality and Religion: An Encyclopedia. Greenwood, 2007.

General Online Reference

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

This can be accessed via the library catalogue or directly on the Internet at the above link. This is an online publication of the Metaphysics Research Lab of the Center for the Study of Language and Information at Stanford University. It is supported by the National Endowment for the Humanities. It contains some essays on religious topics.

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy

This can be accessed via the library catalogue or directly on the Internet at the above link. This is an online publication of the editors who are professors at various colleges and universities.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
David Woolwine
Contact:
902C Axinn Library, Hofstra University, Hempstead, NY 11549-1230

david.woolwine@hofstra.edu
Hofstra University

This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University