Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Religion Resources: Catholic Studies

Introduction

Many of the resources listed under General Resources, especially databases, will be useful to students and faculty working in the area of Catholic Studies. This page lists some of the resources available specifically in that area.

Magazines

National Catholic Reporter Presents progressive, or liberal, views within the Catholic Church.

Commonweal Founded in 1924, it is the oldest independent Catholic magazine in the United States.

First Things Presents traditionalist, or conservative, views within the Catholic Church.

America: The National Catholic Weekly A Jesuit publication, founded in 1909.

Crisis Magazine : A Voice for the Faithful Catholic Laity A relatively conservative magazine. 

Church Life Journal A somewhat scholarly, "great books oriented", right of center journal. Published by the McGrath Institute for Christian Life at the University of Notre Dame.

Resources for Catholic Studies Minor

Ref BX841 .C25 1913 The Catholic Encyclopedia: An International Work of Reference on the Constitution, Doctrine, and History of the Catholic Church. 1913.
Encyclopedia Press.

Online at New Advent: Catholic Encyclopedia

This is the post-Vatican I encyclopedia and represents the views of the Catholic Church at that time. This does not necessarily represent the present-day teachings of the Catholic Church or up-to-date Catholic scholarship. For more current information consult the New Catholic Encyclopedia.

Ref BX841 .C36 2003 The New Catholic Encyclopedia. Thomson Gale and the Catholic University of America. This is held here in print and electronically. The electronic version contains Supplements which the print version does not.

Catholic Research Resources Alliance Independent organization. Lists of online newspapers, links to libraries containing items of to Catholic scholars, and many other resources.

Organizations

Vatican The Vatican City State, a sovereign European country, and the Holy See, the headquarters of the Roman Catholic Church. Official documents of the Church and other informatiion can be found here. Some documents only exist in selected languages. See also Vatican Digital Library Provides free access to the Vatican Library’s digitized collections of manuscripts and incunabula.

Diocese of Rockville Centre The diocese comprising Nassau and Suffolk Counties.

Archdiocese of New York Largest diocese in the metropolitan New York area. Historicially important for New York and for Catholicism in the United States.

LCWR Leadership Conference of Women Religious. Largest association of the leaders of women religious (nuns) in the United States.

SNAP Survivors Network of those abused by Priests. Advocacy and support group for victims of priest abuse.

Catholic Worker Movement Formed in the Great Depression. Organization devoted to non-violence, social change, and work among the poor.

Society of St. Pius X International traditioinalist organization formed by French archbishop Marcel Lefebvre in 1970. Not in full communion with the Holy See.

RomanCatholicWomenpriests An organization which seeks to prepare and ordain women within the Catholic tradition.

Dignity USA An organization advocating for the full inclusion of gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender people within the Catholic Church.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
David Woolwine
Contact:
902C Axinn Library, Hofstra University, Hempstead, NY 11549-1230

david.woolwine@hofstra.edu
Hofstra University

This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University