Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Religion Resources: Websites and Electronic Databases

Websites

American Academy of Religion

ARDA: Association of Religion Data Archives

Association for the Sociology of Religion

ATLA Digital Library Large collection of digitized primary source material on religion maintained by ATLA  (previously American Theological Library Association.)

Baptist Studies Online Maintained by the Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary. It represents various Baptist viewpoints, although strongly Southern Baptist, and contains an online open-access peer reviewed journal and primary source material in Baptist history.

European Association for the Study of Religion

Islamic Heritage Project (Harvard University Open Collections Program) Digitized versions of historically important texts. (Not in English)

Pew Research Center Good source of data and reports on a variety of religious topics in the United States and world-wide. The Topic Index drop-down menu at the topic leads to you most religion data and reports on the site but not necessarily all.

Project Wittenberg Contains historical documents and doctriinal statements (in English translation) of Lutheranism including many of the writings of Martin Luther. Maintained by volunteers and hosted by Concordia Theological Seminary of the Lutheran Church - Missouri Synod.

PRRI Public Religion Research Institute is a nonpartisan and non-profit organization collecting data on religious trends in the United States.

Wesley Center Online Online resource on the Wesleyan tradition and the Church of the Nazareen, contains the Methodist Review from the 1840s to the1890s and the Wesleyan Theological Review from 1966 to recent years.

 

Databases

Open Access Popular Resources

Internet Sacred Texts Archive Use with some care. These may not be the most scholarly works and some translations may not be the best, but it is a place to find open access copies of primary texts in many religious traditions.

Religion Dispatches This is an online magazine which originates in the Annenberg School for Communication/University of Southern California. Its orientation is left or progressive.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
David Woolwine
Contact:
902C Axinn Library, Hofstra University, Hempstead, NY 11549-1230

david.woolwine@hofstra.edu
Hofstra University

This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University