Newspapers
The databases listed below are excellent sources for newspapers. In addition to articles on current events, newspapers are good sources for book, film and theater reviews.
Note that Hofstra now offers students, staff and faculty free access to the digital version of the New York Times. You can now set up access to the NYT by clicking on https://nytimesineducation.com/access-nyt/. Begin the registration process by typing Hofstra into the search bar.
Factiva
A good source for newspapers. It contains Hofstra's only online access to The Wall Street Journal. You can browse The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times and The Washington Post by clicking on the Home tab on the top of the page and scrolling down to where it says Newsstand.
Nexis Uni
Although Nexis also provides access to magazine and journal articles, it is a particularly good source of newspaper articles. It provides full text access to many national and international newspapers. Its coverage of the New York Times dates from 1980 to the present.
New York Times Historical
Provides access to the entire NYT (including ads, obituaries, marriage and birth announcements, etc.) from its very first issue in 1851 until four years prior to the current year.
Academic OneFile
Multidisciplinary database that includes magazines and journals in addition to newspapers. Find full text coverage here for both the New York Times and the Washington Post.
Newsday Historical (1940-1984)
Full text access to Newsday between 1940 and 1984.
Newsday Recent (2010-3 months prior to present date)
Full text access to Newsday from 2010
