Skip to Main Content

Wrting Studies & Composition--Prof. Bengels 2021

Where to Look for Articles

For many article searches, simply type keywords into the search bar underneath the Articles tab on the top left-hand side of the library's homepage:

If you need to drill down more specifically than the broad article search allows, one of the wide  variety of research databases that Hofstra offers, both multidisciplinary and focused more specifically on particular subjects. Find an alphabetical list of these databases by clicking on the link that says Browse our full list of online databases. This list breaks down some different databases that will help you find magazine and scholarly journal articles and newspapers. This is not an exhaustive list. Feel free to explore all of our databases.

 

SOME USEFUL DATABASES

Academic Journals and Magazines

Academic Search Complete

Contains articles on a wide range of topics. Includes scholarly journals, non-scholarly magazines and newspapers. Includes many full text articles.

JSTOR

Like other databases, JSTOR covers a wide variety of topics. However, JSTOR includes only scholarly material (digital books as well as articles). All of the material which Hofstra owns or subscribes to is full text. Note: JSTOR is an archive of academic journals going back to the first issue of a journal and continuing to between two and five years prior to the current date. Do not expect to find the most recent material in JSTOR.

PsycINFO

Good resource on psychology, mental health and related issues. Note: Scroll down to Publication Type and select All Journals in order to avoid retrieving references to books, dissertations and conference proceedings.

Social Science Database

Provides access to academic journals in a variety of disciplines in the social sciences, including education, sociology, political science, and economics. It also provides indexing to books, dissertations and conference proceeding. Be sure to limit your sources only to articles.

Hofstra University

This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University