LibGuides: Speech-Language Pathology: Home

Speech-Language Pathology Databases

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window This database provides full text for more than 1,300 journals in nursing & allied health, including many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo.
Education Collection This link opens in a new window Includes: Education Database and ERIC . see "Additional Info" below.
Links for individual databases included in this collection:
- Education Database: Coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education.
- ERIC: Education and related topics - journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Medline This link opens in a new window MEDLINE - This is the EBSCO MEDLINE database. MEDLINE is the largest subset of material contained PubMed. The content of MEDLINE is the literature on biomedicine and health, broadly defined to encompass those areas of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering needed by health professionals and others engaged in basic research and clinical care, public health, health policy development, or related educational activities. MEDLINE also covers life sciences vital to biomedical practitioners, researchers, and educators, including aspects of biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science as well as biophysics and chemistry.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window Contains full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology, from the American Psychological Association (APA). Includes journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health. Journal coverage from the 1800s to the present.
PubMed/Medline This link opens in a new window PubMed® from the National Library of Medicine comprises more than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. You may limit your PubMed search retrieval to MEDLINE citations by restricting your search to the MeSH controlled vocabulary or by using the Journal Categories filter called MEDLINE. PubMed is a biomedical literature database which contains the abstracts of publications in the database. PubMed Central is a full text repository, which contains the full text of publications in the database. Publications that are archived in PubMed Central may be found when searching PubMed. PubMed Central is a different database from PubMed and does not have the same stringent requirements for inclusion. Articles from PMC may be searchable in PubMed, but this does not mean they are indexed in MEDLINE.
Pubmed Central This link opens in a new window PubMed Central (PMC) from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) provides free permanent electronic access to the full text of over 4.6 million peer-reviewed biomedical and life sciences journal articles. It’s a digital counterpart to NLM’s extensive print journal collection, with the added advantage of being available 24/7 from around the globe. Articles are deposited either by the journal publishers or by the authors themselves. Over 2,400 journals have signed agreements to deposit directly to PMC the final published versions of some or all of their articles. Authors are commonly driven to deposit their peer-reviewed manuscripts by their agencies’ public access policies, which call for making federally funded research freely available to the public, generally within 12 months of publication. Researchers funded by PMC can now deposit into PMC data and other supplementary files that support their published findings.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Full-text scientific database. Includes journal articles and book chapters. Contains Philosophy of Science.

Peer-reviewed / Scholarly / Refereed Literature

Scholarly v. Popular Literature
This is a one-page concise guide to differentiating between scholarly and popular literature. Professional organizations often publish trade papers, such as the ASHA Leader, which are important but are not peer-reviewed literature. The video above and this document will assist you in having a good understanding of the differences.

Inter-Library Loan (ILL)

Some info about Inter-Library Loan (ILL) -

ILL is free to use - you pay for this service in your university fees
99% of items, including articles and books, are delivered within three business days
Articles are delivered electronically, into your ILL account. You will receive an email indicating that 'article X' was delivered to your ILL account and is available in the "electronically delivered articles" section
Received articles reside in ILL for only 30 days - if you want to keep it, you need to save it to your device.
If you forget to save the article and need to request it again, that is fine - you can 'clone' your request' from the 'filled request' section, which lists all items you have requested
The articles do not get returned. They are yours to keep.
Books must be returned - there will be a return date on the sticker on the front of the book. DO NOT spill coffee on them, mark them up, etc. :) :)
Most of the time you will not access interlibrary loan directly. Typically, you will be in a database such as PsycINFO, MEDLINE, LLBA, etc. and access ILL directly from the database.

You create your ILL account using your Hofstra credentials. The link to ILL is under "How to..." on the Library homepage: https://illiad.hofstra.edu/illiad/axinn/. You will automatically be logged in to your account. If you have never used ILL before, fill out the brief form and you'll be set. You'll find more instructions on how to use your interlibrary loan privileges here: https://libguides.hofstra.edu/ILL.

Citation Resources & Tools

You can find the latest APA guide here: https://libguides.hofstra.edu/APA-citation-guide

Other citation generators can be found on this page: https://libguides.hofstra.edu/c.php?g=1081618