Skip to main content

Speech-Language Pathology

This guide is designed for use by incoming graduate students in the Speech-Language Pathology Graduate Program at Hofstra.

General Library Information

Axinn Library is an 11-story building. 
There are two entrances on the main floor - one from the main unispan and another on the west side near Hauser and Davison Halls.
 

MAIN FLOOR

The Unispan entrance leads directly onto the main floor. If you enter from the west side, there are steps (and an elevator) leading down to the ground floor and steps leading up to the main floor.

The main floor contains the circulation desk, the reference desk and study areas as well as several printers. It also contains the reference collection, which contains materials which must be used in the Library. There is a separate section in this guide on Reference materials related to Speech-Language Pathology.

Circulation Desk - for checking books in and out, reserve materials, and getting keys for group study rooms.

Reference Desk - due to COVID, now located in Axinn 108.

Hours for both the Library itself, Circulation Desk, Reference Desk and other areas of the Library are located at https://libguides.hofstra.edu/hulhours
 

GROUND FLOOR

The ground floor contains journals which are only available in print. There is also a scanner which is free to use and allows you to scan materials and either email them to yourself or save them to a flash drive. There is also a printer on the ground floor.

There were also two large study areas with easy chairs and sofas.


SECOND FLOOR

The second floor has been known as the "Collaborative Learning Center" and was designed for group work and also contains printers.


STACK FLOORS 4-8

The stacks contain books which can be checked out and taken home. Graduate students may take out books for 60 days and may have up to 50 books checked out at a time.  NOTE - OVERSIZE BOOKS: There are a number of books related to SLP that are OVERSIZE. This means they are too tall to fit on the regular stack shelves. On each floor, OVERSIZE books are located at the far right end from the public elevators.


10TH FLOOR

The tenth floor has a large open area with small tables for single-person study.


QUIET V. GROUP WORK FLOORS - Ground through 5th floors are NOT quiet areas. 6th-10th floors are quiet areas. There are group study rooms throughout the building and keys are available at the circulation desk on the main floor. Due to COVID, group study rooms are now being limited to three people. Many group study rooms contain a large monitor to which laptops can be connected and projected for group study.

 

Before we begin - the Library Homepage and other important information

Almost all of your research will begin at the Library homepage https://www.hofstra.edu/library/

Soooooo, it is important that you are familiar with it. Below is a link to a document which shows the Library homepage and on which I have placed boxes outlined in red indicating what the most frequently used links are used for.

The database section of this Libguide focuses on PsycINFO, but there are a number of other Ebsco databases in medicine and education which you may also want to use, depending on your research interests.

The document below also advises on the other databases, the use of specialized speech-language-hearing reference materials to provide background information on topics, and other information.

Please review the document below.

Hofstra User Accounts

HOFSTRA NETWORK ACCOUNT

You have been assigned a Hofstra Network account.
Your username is typically your ID #, which is also on your ID card, and you are assigned a password, which you can change.

This username/pw allows you to enter the portal, access your course registration information, grades, etc.
It also enables you to

  • access Hofstra subscription materials, such as databases required for use in your courses
  • use your print account, which is automatically assigned to you containing $120 for 1200 prints @10 cents per print  (note - a "print" is one sheet of paper, either single- or double-sided)
  • interlibrary loan materials
     

If you haven't gotten your ID card yet, it is important to get it as it is required to enter certain classrooms and to enter computer labs.

Inter-Library Loan (ILL)

Why Inter-Library Loan (ILL)?

Because NO institution can carry every journal, every book.

And there may be a journal that publishes key articles on your topic and Hofstra does not subscribe to it (BTW, we do subscribe to @100,000 journals electronically and another 1500 in print). Electronic journals are typically purchased in "bundles" and the bundles that best serve a department or the university are selected. WE SUBSCRIBE TO ALL ASHA JOURNALS as well as many others that cover SLP.

Some info about Inter-Library Loan (ILL) -

  • ILL is free to use - you pay for this service in your university fees
  • 99% of items, including articles and books, are delivered within three business days
  • Articles are delivered electronically, into your ILL account. You will receive an email indicating that 'article X' was delivered to your ILL account and is available in the "electronically delivered articles" section
  • Received articles reside in ILL for only 30 days - if you want to keep it, you need to save it to your device, your F drive, or a flash drive, etc.
  • If you forget to save the article and need to request it again, that is fine - you can 'clone' your request' from the 'filled request' section, which lists all items you have requested
  • The articles do not get returned - if you print them out, you can spill your coffee on them, mark them up, etc.
  • Books must be returned - there will be a return date on the sticker on the front of the book. DO NOT spill coffee on them, mark them up, etc. :) :)
  • Most of the time you will not access interlibrary loan directly. Typically, you will be in a database such as PsycINFO, MEDLINE, LLBA, etc. and access ILL directly from the database.

You create your ILL account using your Hofstra credentials. The link to ILL is under "Popular Services" on the Library homepage https://www.hofstra.edu/library/

OR

Go to https://liblearn.hofstra.edu/guide_on_the_side/tutorial/creating-your-interlibrary-loan-account
for an interactive tutorial. Instructions will be on the left, and the live screen on your right.

Library Catalog - LEXICAT

The Library catalog contains location information and availability of print books and films on DVD or VHS as well as

  • access to ebooks
  • access to government documents
  • access to streaming videos, both academic and other

The Library catalog is available via the Library Homepage https://www.hofstra.edu/library

Ebooks and streaming videos are subscription products. You will be prompted for your username and password. Most ebooks can be downloaded to a personal device. Lending period for ebooks is 15 days but can be renewed.

Instructions for downloading ebooks will be on the left sidebar of the book record. You should use the device on which you want to read the book (i.e., ipad, laptop, etc. to download the book to that device.

KEYWORD v. SUBJECT searching in the catalog

Peer-reviewed / Scholarly / Refereed Literature

Creating an Ebsco Account

Does this sound familiar?  That in the past, you have searched in a database, found some articles, but if you didn't print them out or save them to your computer drive, you would have to try to find them starting from scratch again in the database.

Well, Ebsco allows you to create a personal account in which you can create folders, save items in which you are interested, save searches that you've created, and even create a reference list from your folder!

The link below will take you to a live interactive tutorial which will guide you through opening your Ebsco account. The instructions are on the left side, and the live database is on the right side.

IF YOU ARE NOT ON CAMPUS, YOU WILL BE PROMPTED TO LOG IN WITH YOUR HOFSTRA CREDENTIALS TO CREATE YOUR ACCOUNT.

http://liblearn.hofstra.edu/guide_on_the_side/tutorial/create-an-ebscohost-account

The tutorial brings you into a general Ebsco database because it is used by different disciplines. It shows, however, how you can select databases more specific speech/language pathology databases. For the same reason, although SLP uses medical, psychology, and educational databases (whichever is most appropriate to the topic), the search demonstration is done in PsycINFO as language is a large area of study in psychology, and one will usually find relevant results regardless of the topic. When YOU are searching, however, you should choose the database most appropriate for your topic.  Databases for SLP are on the second page of the "General Information for Speech-Language-Hearing document above in the "Before we begin..." section.

Searching in Ebsco - focus on PsycINFO

Before demonstrating how to search in PsycINFO, save your work, and get the full-text of articles, it is important to understand WHAT is being searched.

HAH!!
Nobody ever thinks about that.


But it is REALLY important, especially as it allows one a lot of control over broadening and narrowing one's searches.

For each "item" in PsycINFO or any other database, there is a RECORD. The item record contains fields, such as AUTHOR(s), TITLE, SOURCE (i.e., journal title), ABSTRACT, SUBJECT, etc.

Below is a link to a sample PsycINFO record. Please click on it and review. The search terms that yielded that particular record were "language" or "language disorder*".

You will see that those terms are highlighted throughout the record - in the article title at the top, in the subject field, in the abstract etc. This is because the entire record was being searched, rather than any particular field(s). You will see this addressed again in the video demonstrating effective and efficient searching.

Saving your SEARCHES in Ebsco

You save items (articles) in which you are interested in your folder.
 

You can also save your SEARCHES.  Why would you want to do that?  So when you return to searching, you don't have to figure out (probably unsuccessfully!!!) what search terms and limiters you used the last time.

Let's look at the sample below - we have used "or" terms and used the truncator "*" to deal with the "word form" problem.

We have also limited results to peer-reviewed articles from 2015-2020 in English. 

In your own searches, you may also wish to narrow down your results by selecting which field the search term(s) appear.

Saving your search enables you to run the search exactly as you had done before, while also enabling you to make changes if you wish.

HOW TO SAVE YOUR SEARCH -  On the right side of the RESULTS screen, you will see the "Share" button.
Clicking on the "Share" button will release the drop-down menu shown. Click on the search link under "Add search to folder"

CAUTION - GO INTO YOUR FOLDER AND ENSURE THAT YOUR SEARCH ACTUALLY IS SAVED - IT OCCASIONALLY GETS GLITCHY AND YOU NEED TO DO IT A SECOND TIME. YOU WILL SEE IT UNDER "PERSISTENT LINKS TO SEARCHES"

 

Creating APA-style reference lists from your Ebsco folder

In class, you put items in your folder.  You can also generate an APA-style reference list of the items in your folder.

The image below is my folder from our class. Notice that it indicates there are 8 articles in the folder. Notice also that on the right sidebar there is a link to "print".

Clicking on "print" brings you to this page - follow the instructions in red

You will arrive at the page below.  You don't actually want to print the citations - you want to paste them into your paper. So X OUT OF THE PRINT BOX (highlighted in red)

Now copy and paste your citations...

 

into your Word document ...

Now you have some cleaning up to do. For example, the list has to be in alphabetical order, double-spaced, have "References" centered at the top, etc. You can review APA-style more with your professor. 

Also, ALL citation managers make errors.  I've highlighted some errors - can you figure out what is wrong with them?

You should check the citations against the instructions on the APA-style Citation guide located at https://libguides.hofstra.edu/APA-citation-guide

Quick Guide to APA citation

Important Documents



This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University