Life Skills and Career Coaching for Teens by
Setting out a year-long curriculum based programme for education and youth professionals, this book provides a challenging and engaging workshop-based approach to developing school engagement and ambitions in young people aged 11-18. The programme, which is informed by CBT, helps professionals to understand barriers to young people's school engagement and learning. It outlines a case for a practical, well-rounded curriculum that readies students for life post-education through eight core themes, including 'believing in me', 'money matters' and 'business basics'. The second part of the book is a photocopiable manual for use in classroom settings, making this an essential, hands-on manual for nurturing young people's life skills.
Emotional Intelligence in Schools by
This text presents a methodical, organized approach to counseling students in emotional intelligence (EI) by detailing how to understand and direct emotions, while also keying counselors directly to the underlying emotional motivations behind the behaviors. Divided into four units, the book starts with an overview of emotions and continue to explore the nature of anger, fear, grief, and guilt. Chapters present both explanatory narratives and teen-centered activities to show how these challenging, uncomfortable feelings when unregulated may negate resiliency and lead to anxiety, bullying, depression, and teen suicide. Counselors and educators alike will benefit from the light, unexacting tone that encourages humor and levity and discusses how to handle difficult emotions without harsh and heavy overtones.
Child and Adolescent Suicidal Behavior by
This comprehensive resource--now revised and expanded--provides school practitioners with an evidence-based framework for preventing and effectively responding to youth suicidal behavior. David N. Miller guides readers to understand, screen, and assess for suicide risk in students in grades K-12. He presents collaborative strategies for intervening appropriately within a multi-tiered system of support. The book also shows how to develop a coordinated plan for postvention in the aftermath of a suicide, offering specific dos and don'ts for supporting students, parents, and school personnel. User-friendly tools include reproducible handouts; the book's large-size format facilitates photocopying. Purchasers get access to a webpage where they can download and print the reproducible materials. New to This Edition *Chapter on the roles and responsibilities of the school-based suicide prevention team. *Significantly revised coverage of screening and suicide risk assessment. *Situates prevention and intervention within a schoolwide multi-tiered system of support. *Updated throughout with current data, practical recommendations, and resources.
SAGE Guide to Careers for Counseling and Clinical Practice by
The SAGE Guide to Careers for Counseling and Clinical Practice offers valuable insights into a range of career options in clinical work through the contributions of 15 counselors. The text opens with a discussion of the various roles and functions of counselors and includes guidance on educational, licensing, and fieldwork considerations, while subsequent chapters offer practical information on job requirements, salaries, and day-to-day activities. Aspiring counselors and clinicians will gain not only a factual knowledge about career possibilities, but also a deeper understanding of what it actually means to engage in this type of work.
Internship, Practicum, and Field Placement Handbook by
The Internship, Practicum, and Field Placement Handbook is a practical guide for interns in the helping professions, with real-world knowledge of the skills students need through every phase of their practicum, field placement, or internship. This text expertly guides students through the essential skills needed for beginning work in the field of mental health and outlines skills that will serve students throughout their academic and professional careers. Skills discussed include how to make a great first impression, understanding the process and content of clinical writing, recordkeeping, working with peers and supervisors, understanding diversity, cultivating self-care, and promoting safety. Every phase of the internship is discussed chronologically: from finding and preparing for placements to concluding relationships with clients and supervisors. Following an evidence and competency-based approach, the latest research findings are reviewed from the fields of psychology, social work, and counseling. The Internship, Practicum, and Field Placement Handbook is an invaluable resource for students, faculty, and supervisors engaged in the exciting, challenging experience of transitioning from academia into clinical training in the field. Free online resources available at www.routledge.com/9781138478701 support the text.
The Counseling Practicum and Internship Manual by
This best-selling guide to the practicum and internship experience, written expressly for graduate counseling students by a seasoned counselor and educator, is now substantially revised. New and expanded content touches on CACREP developments, trauma-informed care, social media, mindfulness, multicultural competencies, and more. With a strong focus on counseling as a specific professional identity, the book helps graduate students and new counselors develop their own approach to counseling and supervision, maintaining beneficial working relationships, self-care, sharpening writing skills, and record-keeping. A completely new chapter focuses on trauma-informed care developed from evidence-based approaches. Concise and accessible, the book describes everything students need to know as they enter and progress through the practicum and internship process. Replete with case examples and sample forms, it encompasses information on how to select and apply for practicum/internships in all settings. It also examines ethical and legal issues, ensuring student safety at field sites, and clinical issues including teletherapy and termination. Instructor and student ancillary materials are included with this new edition. The print version of the book includes free, searchable, digital access to the entire contents New to the Third Edition: Updated to include content on 2014 ACA Code of Ethics and CACREP developmentsNew chapter on trauma-informed care including evidence-based approachesInformation on crisis intervention and de-escalationIncreased content on supervision styles and modelsExpanded information on student safety at field sites, job searching, dealing with mandated/resistant clients, and goal setting and self-evaluationReceiving feedback from supervisors and providing feedback to peersStages of change/client willingness to change as counseling modelDiscussions about social media, vicarious trauma, cyberbullying, and mindfulnessTeletherapy including confidentiality issues, hacking, encryption, and legal issuesMulticultural counseling competenciesExpanded case studiesNew Instructor's Manual and PowerPoint slidesKey Features: Focuses on counseling as a specific professional identity and mentors students in a supportive, user-friendly styleCovers everything students need to know as they enter and progress through the practicum/internship processIncludes abundant case examplesA concluding chapter on preparing for the job search, r sum s, cover letters, and negotiating salary
To locate books or ebooks in the library catalog, go to the library homepage.
Perform a keyword search of the library's catalog for print and electronic books.
This site is compliant with the W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
HOFSTRA UNIVERSITY Hempstead, NY 11549-1000 (516) 463-6600 © 2000-2009 Hofstra University